We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Maur
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hambrough(Ventnor)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Old Park Hotel(St Lawrence)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
175
41
11
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
41
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barventnor parkseparate bardining roomshort breakguest housevictorian villacourse evening mealfriendly hotelbed and breakfast basisboth breakfast and dinnerfive coursesrelaxing breakother guestsnight breakvery pleasant stayexcellent food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Having read the reviews on this site we were hoping for a very pleasant stay indeed. Unfortunately I think our hopes were built up to expect fantastic accomodation, superb breakfast and friendly service. The room was in need of some tlc and we were awoken early in the morning by shouting and loud voices from what must be the kitchen. When we went to breakfast we were greeted by two teenage girls who looked as if they would rather be anywhere else but there. The breakfast itself was mediocre at best, the bacon salty, the sausages tasteless, the fried egg hard and the tomatoes under cooked. We love the Island and will return but not to St. Maur.

Room Tip: Try another Hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Recently returned from another very enjoyable stay at the St Maur. Year in year out David and his loyal team continue to maintain a high level of commitment in providing excellent food and service; all go into making St Maur the ideal hotel for those who still prefer traditional fare at fair prices! We shall return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achilles_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

From the moment we contacted the hotel we were very impressed. David provided us with good accurate information and throughout our trip (just 3 days) he continued to be very helpful. His staff provide an excellent service and always with a smile.
Never had so many towels in a bathroom even down to a flannel and all of good quality, toiletries provided were also good.
The room was excellent although as I have said our room was at the top it was light and airy.
Plenty of choice on the tray in the room of various teas, coffees, hot chocolate and enough milk for more than just a cup or two!
Breakfasts all cooked to order and a good choice of fresh fruit and cereals. Evening meals were larger than we are used to so asked for smaller portions after our first evening.
This hotel is run very efficiently and deserves all the good reviews. Thank you to David and his staff for helping to make our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Top floor with Juliet balcony views across to the sea Room 7 for us but be aware the last flight of steps to this floor is quite steep but so well worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edev839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

It is approx 7 years since I lasted visited St Maur, and what has changed? - not a lot! Still friendly, clean, comfortable - good, well cooked food and plenty of it served by cheerful obliging staff. If you want in-house entertainment this is not the place for you, but if you value excellent service, clean comfortable rooms, obliging, happy staff at reasonable prices is St Naur you have a winner.

Room Tip: Enjoyed a quiet room with a walk in wet room on the first floor - complete with small balcony
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4408davem408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

When our group of eight friends decided on a few days away on the Isle of Wight I suggested we try the St. Maur where my husband and I had stayed about three years ago. I was a little worried that things might have deteriorated in the intervening years but all my worries were unfounded. Once again everything was great. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and (very important as it was not the best of weather) warm with bottled water and plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits provided. Normally I don't sleep very well on the first couple of nights in a strange room but at the St. Maur I slept very well as the bed was so comfortable. The staff, all of whom have been there many years, were friendly and made everyone feel welcome. The food was well cooked and plentiful - in fact portions were so generous that after the first night we told David (the owner and chef) to cut down the amounts as we couldn't eat it all! There was an attractive and large lounge where tea, coffee and mints were provided after dinner and a bar area with an "honesty book". We had transport but many of the guests used the excellent local bus service which stopped nearby. All in all a great few days and we were agreed that any more visits to the Isle of Wight would mean booking in at the St. Maur.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews