We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Enjoyable Stay at St. Maur”
Review of St Maur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Maur
Ranked #4 of 15 Ventnor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Enjoyable Stay at St. Maur”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you're looking for Nouvelle Cuisine or pretentious "fine dining" - then St Maur is not for you.

If, however, you are seeking a very friendly, hospitable hotel, with a warm, caring staff, exceptionally comfortable rooms and marvellous home-cooked meals, sourced mainly from local produce, look no further. St Maur Hotel, Ventnor is the place.

We have been visiting for the last eight years and will be doing so for the foreseeable future.

Oh - and you'd go a long way to find a better breakfast!!

Magi and Peter

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    39
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
166
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for a mid-week break and were pleased to discover the bedroom and bathroom were large and kept spotlessly clean. The hotel has a comfortable self service bar and a separate large lounge with Tea & Coffee on tap after dinner. The family/staff were friendly and attentive and the food was both good and plentiful. I didn't manage all six dinner courses but was able to pick and choose. I can understand why people return again and again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclegeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

There for three nights weekend between Easter & May bank for the wifes birthday.
staff very friendly & helpful felt very relaxed very nice bedroom & hugh bathroom.
breakfasts very nice excellent six courses evening meals, would certainly stay there again.

Bob.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely clean and comfortable hotel guest house. Sea views, a typical English seaside feel, lovely gardens and a warm welcome from the owner. If you walk be prepared for hills to climb to get to this location, if you are in the car then not a problem. I did some walking to and from St Maur into the town centre which is not far and as a result I feel a lot fitter than I did, an added bonus! Would definitely go back to this hotel, thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sueflopeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

As we were on a walking weekend the most important was to have a shower and a good sleep, we were disappointed. The shower had very little water and one of the bed we could feel the springs on the mattress.
None the less the location was very, very good to enable us to walk to walk to town for a meal out and enjoy Ventnor.
We had a front room on first floor, with a balcony and beautiful views and the sun rise in the morning.
The house is regency style and beautiful. Just a shame that some of the furniture in our room was pine furniture, although the two armchair and the small coffee table by the French windows were more in keeping, and we enjoyed sitting there enjoying a drink looking out. The room was large and comfortable. I am not good with strong smells and did not like the strong smell of toilet cleaning and also the towel perfume was too strong for my liking.
The breakfast and staff was excellent. The owner incredible helpful and nice. The garden beautiful. The bar was well stocked and good. We did not have an evening meal there as we prefer to walk out to the town in the evenings.
There is a water softer there so the water in the tap in the bathroom is not drinking water. There is a nice tap outside the house for drinking water, from which we filled our water bottles.
Downstairs there are the bar and a nice lounge to sit and relax. All very beautiful decorated and you can help yourselves to hot or cold drinks.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great Stay. Hotel was extremely comfortable, clean and an ample, well fitted bathroom to match.
Breakfast excellent, and evening meal of six courses was just a delight.
Staff very friendly and helpful, could not do enough to make the stay enjoyable.
Had my 70th birthday mid-way through our stay and staff made a cake for me that evening.
On departure, staff provided us with a flask of coffee for the journey home.
Excellent stay, would recommend anyone to stay at the St Maur.

Room Tip: Room 15 has a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Leave no doubt this is a value for money place. It has a great web site, youtube clips, and was voted best place on IOW in 2003. But it's glory days are past,, the linen and bedding feels worn, the glasses look like they have been through the dishwasher a gazillion times, the ikea furniture is worn, with a tiny bit more spend this could be so much more ! The breakfast is great, the people friendly, and the location pretty good ( on the hill, opposite the gardens and about 20min walk to town). It's cheap , and when we were there the clientele were quite elderly ( supporting cheap ),,, the toilet in our room was not working well ,, which got us off to a very bad start ! In the end the breakfast made up for what would have otherwise be a weaker review. As I say, a little bit more investment in the basics and this very weathered establishment would come alive. It's as if the managers are so focussed on the gloss of the self promotion ( internet etc ) that they have forgotten the inside, But it is good value for money ,,, and you should expect what you pay for,,,

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventnor
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ventnor Towers Hotel
Ventnor Towers Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ventnor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.8 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Maur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Maur

Property: St Maur
Address: Castle Road, Ventnor PO38 1LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ventnor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ventnor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St Maur 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a quiet, peaceful location St Maur is ideally situated for exploring the Isle of Wight whether walking, using public transport or by car. On our doorstep are many cliff and downland walks and the famous botanical gardens. We offer a relaxed atmosphere with friendly and attentive staff to look after you when you return from your days activities. Local food according to season is used within our menus cooked by owner/chef ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Maur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Maur Ventnor, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing