We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cunard Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cunard Apartments
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here as a family and found the apartment comfortable, everything that you needed was provided. It was a real home from home. We stayed for 5 days and wished we could stay longer. We hope to return next year. It is handy for the ferry and the local transport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with young family with children aged 3 and 7. Apartment very spacious and well equipped, it quickly became a home from home. Owner has truly thought of everything! Very clean throughout and perfect location.
Plenty of restaurants nearby including Paparazzi (next door) and Jak's Bar a few doors away. Port Jack Chippy a short drive away in Onchan - well worth a visit. Main high street runs behind Cunard. Plenty of on street parking.
Overall we had a lovely time in IOM, mainly owing to such pleasant accommodation. Highly recommend!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sh0ppinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

found these apartments by chance, we have stayed in many hotels and B & B,s when we have been over visiting, but these apartments topped the lot, fantastic choice of accommodation, very spacious and everything you need, home from home, great view over the seafront as well, will definitely book here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank joesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Spent a weekend here recently. Our unit was huge (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, dining room, living room), but the furnishings were tired and in desperate need of an update. Bed was pretty uncomfortable. Area is quite loud until quite late (~2-3AM on Saturday night). "Check in" process was awkward, as was "check out" -- there is no lobby, instead you just ring a bell and wait for someone to come out. If it's Nigel, things are good. If it's not Nigel, it's very weird (we were met with a "what are you doing here?" by one person that answered). Making reservations took multiple phone calls (many time the phone just rang and rang and was never answered, once it was answered, the promised email confirmation never came and required more phone calls). Not luxury by any stretch, but certainly serviceable. We didn't bother trying the bar/nightclub downstairs and instead preferred to go out in Douglas.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Excellent clean apartment, fantastic view of the harbour and Castle of Refuge. We stayed for four days and slept better than we had for a long lime. The kitchen facilities were great and conveniently sited next to the plush and comfortable lounge with TV and WiFi. The owner is a very pleasant and helpful gentleman who obviously aims to please. Situated on the harbour front, the main Douglas shopping centre is just around the corner and in summer the horse drawn tram passes right outside. There is a bar in the basement and drinks are discounted for guests.
Very highly recommended, we will be going back to this lovely island and stay again at the Cunard Apartments.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PandM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were initially booked for a week at Cunard Apartments but through a series of misadventures, stayed there for seven weeks. The flat was well-furnished and comfortable (though master bedroom bed was a little small for 6'4" occupant) and extremely well equipped. Overall the flat was spacious, full of light, we had a wonderful view of Douglas Harbour and the location was ideal. The property owner/manager was extremely helpful and efficient. There was a little noise on a Friday/Saturday night, as you might expect from a centrally positioned location, but it generally tailed off around midnight. We particularly appreciated the tv/DVD/Xbox combo.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruxelles-Sprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have recently stayed at the Cunard apartment for our family holiday. Myself and my family have been visiting the island for the past thirteen years. This is the first time we have stayed in an self catering apartment. what with local shops, restaurants, transport facilities and the sea terminal within five minutes walking distance, this had to best located apartment on the island.

The apartment itself was very spacious, very clean, excellent facilities and well equipped. As a family, with two teenagers, the size of the apartment was such an asset. As well as the stunning views and large windows in the lounge / dining area, the apartment had a very comfortable but yet modern feeling. This was mixed with a lovely warm welcome from the owners. We would not hesitate to recommend the Cunard to families, couples, or anyone wishing for the perfect accommodation or location when visiting the island and we will definitely be booking again next year if not sooner!

Well done and thank you for a fantastic holiday!!!
The Essex family from Cheshire

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou3675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sefton Express
Sefton Express
#1 of 1 in Ballasalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cunard Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cunard Apartments

Property: Cunard Apartments
Address: 28-29 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cunard Apartments located in Douglas, the capital of the Isle of Man, are situated on Loch Promenade with beautiful views over the bay and marine gardens. These spacious 4 Star Deluxe Apartments in a central position offer the benefit of being near to all transport, shops and office locations whilst only a short distance from the beach and countryside. Close to the Sea & Air Terminals they offer the tourist and businessman ideal facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cunard Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cunard Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing