We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wicklow Hills Guest House
Ranked #28 of 36 Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed her on business a few weeks ago and was very impressed. Room was spotless and free wi-fi available throughout.
Breakfast was as good as any 3 star hotel and served in a very nice modern dining room.
The owners (Sue and Phil ?) were so helpful and incredibly friendly.
Its just a short walk to the Prom in Douglas and located opposite lovely public park area.

Excellent value for money.
I will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank INS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Wicklow Hills Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

The sign over the door states ' Enter as a stranger leave as a friend' this has been my excuse for returning the third time in two years. Six nights in comfort and the breakfast would put a restaurant to shame. Although not islanders the owners have a good knowledge of the area and are always there to help. The rooms have a TV and in the lounge is a large screen. I do not normally have time to use this facility but on the opening night of the Olympics a group of the residents and I watched in the lounge. Unfortunately the company and complimentary tea/coffee out shone the TV coverage. The front bedrooms overlook the Hutchinson Square gardens which is worth a visit just to learn some of the history of the island during the war years.

Being a short walk from the prom it is easy to get to places in the town without using public transport.

Room Tip: Room 4 is in the front
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights it was lovely, Sue (landlady, owner) is really lovely and very helpfull, my room was clean and modern. Breakfast was excellent. Ideal situated for public transport short walk to prom. I would definately recommend it and will be returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Very friendly welcome.First night spent in double room would probably have been on the small size for two. Single room large enough, No biscuits included with drinks making facility (tes, coffee, chocolate).No instructions for operating small TV in Bedroom.Car parking could be a problem during high season.Bed very comfortable, fantastic Breakfast with plenty of choice and very filling.
Owners very helpful with brochures, maps and advice on places of interest including eating places.
ONLY FIVE MINUTES DOWN TO PROMENADE, TEN MINUTES BACK UPHILL.
SOME DECENT LOCAL SHOPS BUT A BIT PRICEY.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK
1  Thank 66George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband, dad and brother-in-law for 3 nights. My dad booked so I didn't know what to expect but on arrival the place was clean looking and Susan the owner was very welcoming. We were taken to our rooms, all of which were on the top floor but for 4 healthy humans was easy going up the 53 steps. We had a communial bathroom which suited us fine.

Breakfast was brilliant and filled us up for the morning, my dad was amazed with the kippers! Also on our last morning Susan was kind enough to give us breakfast to go, so wecoukd eat on the ferry.

All in all great b&b, brilliant location and if your staying make sure you eat out at the Italian job restaurant. It was great too!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gsijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

like me, Don't worry you won't find a better establishment for your money here. I stayed with my sister in a twin room which was clean and comfortable, Susan's a lovely lady and is always keen to help, nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent cooked perfectly and of good quality. I would certainly come back to wicklows again. the one negative would be the communal loos and baths/showers need refitting, but most rooms do have en-suites.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suziew378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I booked in prior to going to work at the Masonic Lodge were CAMRA were holding their first Beer Festival. I landlaady and landlord were very friendly and wanted to know more of what I was doing.

Every morning I was greeted with a smile and conversation before eating a full breakfast. I enjoyed my stay and will return as it is close to the town and only a short walk to the ship terminal and even closer to the bus stop for the airport.

If you like steam trains, electric trams, horse trams or just want to get out siteseeing then this is a good base to set out from.

the place is welcoming staffed by profesionals.

Room Tip: Rooms 1&2 are at the back but the road is not noisy at the front
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Melrose Guest House
Melrose Guest House
#14 of 15 in Douglas
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn
Rosslyn
#24 of 36 in Douglas
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#10 of 36 in Douglas
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silvercraigs
Silvercraigs
#18 of 36 in Douglas
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
At Caledonia
At Caledonia
#21 of 36 in Douglas
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicklow Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicklow Hills Guest House

Address: 27 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HP
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £46 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wicklow Hills Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a lovely quiet Victorian Square boasting beautiful landscape gardens and partial sea views. Close to local amenities and within a short walk to Douglas Bay and Douglas town centre.We have a selection of family, double, twin and single rooms, most with en suite facilities.Free WIFI available in all rooms.Free tea and coffee in lounge.Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and vegetarians and vegans are also catered for.3* Rating.Philip and Susan guarantee you a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Wicklow Hills Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicklow Hills Guest House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing