We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts,central location,spotless rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wicklow Hills Guest House
Ranked #29 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We stayed at Wicklow Hills for 3 nights in Jun'10, and were very . The guest house itself is very centrally located just 5 minutes from the ferry and 2 minutes drive uphill from the promenade in Douglas [turn at the Central hotel]. The owners Susan & Philip are very welcoming & helpful.The rooms although small are perfectly adequate and most importantly spotless. Breakfast is plentiful. Street parking available on Hutchinson Square and ask Susan if she has parking disks - Mon - Fri 8am-6pm, no parking discs required outside of these times. All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend to Wicklow Hills to anyone staying in the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bc0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2010

My Father and I stayed at this great Guiest House during the TT Races, at very short notice. Phill and Susan made us very welcom and showed us around. The bedroom was very comfortable, clean and met our expectations. . The breakfast lasted us well into the afternoon. Nothing was to much trouble from first thing in the morning to last thing at night. A very enjoyable exprerience.
Thanks to Phill and Susan for making two old bikers from Aberdeen (aged 50 and 80) very content.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AberdeenAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Me and the wife stayed here for a short break of 3 nights.

Luke warm reception. Staff helped us with a parking permit so we could park right outside, which was good, fairly limited parking in this residential area. Nice enough area with nice views out the front onto gardens across the road. Not too far from the centre although the hill is a bit of a climb and can get tiring if your out and about.a lot. More suited to younger legs I would say.

Rooms were tatty with stained headboards and broken light switches and so on but the bedding was always made up well and was clean. TV had digital and a good reception, plenty of tea and coffee and if you run out just ask and they will give you more.

I would have probably have given 2 stars but the breakfast made up for it. Awesome full English and probably one of the best I've had from a guest house in a while.

Other Guests were all drunken Dubliners who thought it normal to shout down the corridors at 3am and slam doors and generally make as much noise as possible, might have just been a one off, would have been much better without these idiots.

Overall we had a good time and I would recommend it, but I would probably look around and stay somwhere else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Plenty of B&Bs in Douglas, so very disappointing to find one that doesn't seem to want to compete with the rest. Stayed in a twin room which was very small. Stained headboards on the beds, broken reading lamp (hanging from the wall), TV didn't work, cushions stained, stain on one of the duvet covers (though sheets were clean). Very tatty overall. Bathroom was awful: toilet seat broken (wouldn't stay up) and absolutely no room to move around. WiFi didn't work in room also. No hairdryer or other amenities in room so if you stay you will need to bring your own! Breakfast the only good thing: plenty of choice, friendly service from the lady who served guests which was odd because the manageress wasn't friendly at all - very, very poor customer service from her. Could have forgiven the tattiness but for that.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merseypopcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Stayed here for 5 nights mid June 2008 (just after TT races)

We were visiting family so were only looking for a comfy B&B.Found them on the net searching for fairly cheap B&B.
And what a treasure Wicklow Hills turned out to be.

We had our 2yr old son with us,they said they could provide a cotbed or extra single bed in the room,and made sure we had the "family" room.All the furnishings were fairly new looking,couldnt complain at all about them.We had an ensuite room,was fairly small,but what we expected for a guesthouse

The guesthouse is located fairly close to the promenade (just a walk down the hill) Parking could be a problem(most likely high season/TT season) as there are quite a few B&B/hotels in the area,as well as residential houses,but we never had a problem parking more than 50metres away from the front door.You need special permits when you park,but the B&B provided us with one.

The hosts Phil and Sue were fab - they accommodated our every need,keeping milk in their fridge and filling our sons morning and night time bottle of milk.The breakfast they provided was FANTASTIC - truely saw us through to tea time!A good choice of hot breakfast(freshly made to order)as well as cereals and juices.Again they made such an effort to accommodate our son (providing a high chair,making his breakfast into funny shapes on the plate) They really did make us feel welcome as a family,when all the other guests were "child-less"

We were really impressed with what we recieved to what we paid.We intend to go stay there agin when we go back next year.A really nice guesthouse.

Oh and my husband was most impressed with the WiFi access in our room,so he could keep updated with work.Thumbs up from him!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CraftyGalHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianDahlenbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
654 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adelphi
Adelphi
#9 of 37 in Douglas
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
At Caledonia
At Caledonia
#20 of 37 in Douglas
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicklow Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicklow Hills Guest House

Address: 27 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HP
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £45 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wicklow Hills Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a lovely quiet Victorian Square boasting beautiful landscape gardens and partial sea views. Close to local amenities and within a short walk to Douglas Bay and Douglas town centre.We have a selection of family, double, twin and single rooms, most with en suite facilities.Free WIFI available in all rooms.Free tea and coffee in lounge.Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and vegetarians and vegans are also catered for.3* Rating.Philip and Susan guarantee you a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Wicklow Hills Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicklow Hills Guest House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing