We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & value for money”
Review of Cubbon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cubbon House
Ranked #4 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location & value for money”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Booked a twin room for a weekend break with a friend & we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, clean & comfortable, the breakfasts were hearty & freshly prepared. It's ideally situated for public transport & all the amenities of central Douglas. The only downside is the stairs - you need to have a reasonable level of fitness to stay here but at least it means you can enjoy the view over Douglas bay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    24
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
45
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mile End
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

What a wonderful sea view was had from the front two rooms on the 3rd Floor! We are two Australian couples traveling the UK who chose this B & B on the Promenade because of it's close proximity to the Ferry terminal, the main shopping area and restaurants. Yes, it meant climbing stairs yet again, but this seems to be the norm in the UK. One room had single beds, but with a window sitting area and a large bathroom with a bath. The other albeit smaller had a double bed, and smaller but adequate bathroom. Both had beautiful views. A downstairs lounge and toilet area was useful after we obtained a late checkout. Free WiFi is an asset. Breakfasts were magnificent served by Elaine, a very friendly host. A plus for overseas people, is that we were able to book on trust, rather than sending cheques or money orders.

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanbO1363QG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a week of Elaine's excellent hospitality. My room at the back was really comfortable with a lovely ensuite complete with bath for relaxing in after long coastal walks on the island. Situated on the main promenade transport, shops restaurants and theatre were all nearby.
The breakfasts were amazing offering cereals, fruit, yoghurt, and full English complete with lashings of tea or coffee.
Really good value.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just had a fantastic stay at cubbon house. Rooms are fantastic the service is impeccable and the breakfast is the best I have had in any hotel. Elaine is a fantastic host and would do anything to can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauramcdonald8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Thanks ELaine for your generousity and care. I ve stayed in this Bb
Since 2008. Have always book room only but glad i book BB ths time. The breakfast was really good , plenty to eat and enough to make a sandwich too. Elaine is truly an amazing host. Very generous and a great help.
Thanks so much for all the care and marvellous stay over the years. Wishing u all the best. U sip.y are great.
Yap

Room Tip: A seaview room has a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Great place to stay,very comfy and Elaine is a lovely lady,we have stayed there the last 3 years on our visits to the IOM and love it
The breakfast is fantastic and your made to feel welcome,your cant ask for more.
Robbie n Ruth

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kong180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Our first stay here and we absolutely loved it! Room and Hotel very clean, lovely family atmosphere and great hospitality. Breakfast is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. Warm and welcoming, homely reception and environment. Would thoroughly recommend Cubbon House to anyone, its a must to visit!. Will definitely be back for another stay! Thanks Elaine, from Linda & Steve xx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LinWilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#7 of 22 in Douglas
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cubbon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cubbon House

Property: Cubbon House
Address: Cubbon House 48 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LZ
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Guest House ideally located central on Douglas Promenade with high standards, all rooms have en-suite, free Wi-Fi, TV's and tea & coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cubbon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cubbon House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing