We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”
Review of Empress Hotel

Empress Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We picked this hotel because it looked nice in the photos so bit disappointed that it was in the middle of a refurbishment complete with scaffolding covering the front and a strong smell of paint in reception. There was only a handful of guests so it would have been nice to have a decent room rather than the one tucked away at the rear with a view of brick walls and below the creaky floor above a guest who paced up and down like a drill Sargent all through the night. The room small but clean. Breakfast was well cooked and good quality. The restaurant staff very efficient and attentive. The room service and restaurant menu.s were limited in choice. Bar area was pleasant although without other guests lacked atmosphere. We spent time at the Sefton Hotel a little more expensive but we would pay the extra next time as much better all round and bit nearer the action.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rc5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the New Year and were very impressed. The Aroma buffet restaurant serves an excellent range of Chinese and Indian food. You can eat as much as you like and the price is very reasonable. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite which has a fabulous balcony overlooking Douglas bay. The hotel is decorated beautifully throughout. We will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room with wonderful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Our room was small but very clean with clean pillow cases and towels every day. However, there was no chest of drawers and we had to put our clothes on shelves in the wardrobe. Also, our floor creaked wherever we walked and I am sure we must have driven the people on the floor below mad! The food was good, but rather small portions, and sometimes delivered cold so had to be sent back to the kitchen. My husband asked for another bread roll one evening and was told they were all gone! Fortunately, one of the guests on another table gave his to us. The service was good and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Very good location for touring the island by public transport in respect of which the 5 and 7 day tickets are good value.
We had a good sized seaview executive room but you need to specify this and pay a bit extra. We could see that room sizes varied a lot, typical of older buildings, and noticed that some of those not facing the sea were quite small. Also the live music could be quite intrusive (we were on the first floor more or less directly above it) and generally went on until 11.30p.m. There is also some street noise so my advice is to go for a higher floor if you are sensitive to noise or like to get to sleep early.

Staff were excellent, efficient and friendly. Our room was spacious, clean and comfy.The entrance to the hotel deserves mention as a very pleasant area.
The a la carte restaurant was very pleasant and the food was very good. The alternative buffet restaurant is downstairs and offers an interesting mixture of mainly Indian and Chinese food with a few British dishes as well. It was OK and you could eat as much as you liked but I dare say you could get a better purely Indian or Chinese meal in one of the local dedicated Indian/Chinese restaurants. A decent buffet style breakfast was served downstairs. We like to eat around and particularly liked the nearby Italian Job at the Villa Marina and Harbour Lights in the shopping area.

Room Tip: Specifically request a sea-facing executive room, preferably on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart Rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The hotel was one of the cheaper options available to me, i paid £70 for one night in a single room. The room was small in size but ok. The bed was comfy and free internet is provided. The breakfast is again a typical English breakfast with many hot and some cold options. The hotel is located along the promenade, there is a bus stop in fron of thehouse. Next door is a pizza shop but the hotel also has a couple of restaurants. It will take you about 20min when you walk from thesteam trainstation ormainbus station to the hotel. 

Expect a clean professional hotel where you can spend the night but don't expect any extras or fancy things and not too warm personnel. 

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

hotel is in excellent position for travelling round the island.Staff are helpful and pleasant but not intrusive.Food is well presented and hot.Breakfast deserves a special mention. Large choice and replenished regularly-kippers and porridge available on request.
Our "executive room "was large and spotlessly clean. If i had to find fault it would be that more drawer space would be beneficial.
The double glazing is very effective at noise reduction however it was very warm last week and with the windows open there was some traffic noise however this reduced greatly by 10.30 ish.Some nights the sea was noisy at high tide but we have to remember it's a beach front hotel.
Would return to this hotel anytime

Room Tip: Worth paying for executive room .Great views and bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DOTTICAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Visited this hotel with my family members. The hotel was beautifully clean with a nice relaxing atmosphere. The food in the conservatory restaurant was excellent, especially the fish and chips which was really nicely presented and not too expensive. The staff were very pleasant and attentative to every need.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linds58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: Castle Mona Avenue, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: £63 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing