We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Empress Hotel

Empress Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Recently returned from another visit to the Empress and were not disappointed as it was as good as ever.
Despite being busy, the Rooms, Food and Service were of their usual high standard, particularly the Bar which is run by Lukasz who is the star and main face of the hotel. Special thanks to him and well done to all & hope you visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    30
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
35
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The empress hotel what can I say absolutely fantastic 1st class hotel,friendly staff.hotel room overlooking Douglas bay very very clean,and the food was excellent would recommend the empress to everydody try it you won't be disappointed we weren't .Thank you

Room Tip: Room very spacious clean have brewing facilities TV ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having enjoyed many happy family holidays as a child at the Isle of Man, it was time to return to reflect on those wonderful memories - was I disappointed - certainly not!
Choosing the Empress Hotel with its central location on the seafront in the heart of Douglas convenient to the port, shops, theatres and cinemas not forgetting the prestigious Villa Marina, confirmed I had made the right decision also with all means of transport literally on the doorstep, this was a bonus. The imposing entrance provided a grand welcome to the foyer with the dining room to the left and piano bar to the right each commanding panoramic views over the bay. The standard of cuisine using local products was not to be equalled. The staff were all polite and conscientious. Enjoying the luxury of an executive room enabled me further re-live my childhood memories as I wakened to the sound of the sea and gulls!

Room Tip: As there are many steps within the hotel, for any guest with mobility issues make certain to advise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from the Isle of Man and stayed at the Empress Hotel which was first class in every way. We had a beautiful room overlooking the bay and fantastic weather.
One draw back was the fact next door to the Empress Hotel is a late night take away (closing approx. 4am in the morning) youths who had been celebrating in the local night club gathered here until 4am, shouting and swearing, this happened Friday Saturday and we thought good Sunday night they would not be be coming but next day was a Bank Holiday and this night was even rowdier. We mentioned it to the Hotel Manager and he said he would try to do something about it i.e report it to the police. We are defintely going back to the Isle of Man next year and would love the stay again at the Empress but we have doubts about the peace and quiet that we need to sleep. Hopefully soming can be done to rectify this.

Room Tip: Room 406 super big room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel enjoys a superb location midway along the Douglas promenade. A smart exterior is complemented by well presented open plan lounge and dining areas. A pianist plays soft background music, though the occasional replacement artiste was rather over enthusiastic one evening.
The presentation and quality of food at dinner varied, with the traditional roast beef being the most disappointing. Breakfasts were both hearty and wholesome with lots of choice, including Manx kippers.
The rooms were comfortable and well appointed, though our room had a terrific draught from under the door.
The staff try hard to please guests and generally succeed.
Regular bus and horse tram services stop close to the hotel and it's a 20 minute stroll to either end of the seafront - left for the electric railway and right to town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is in a good spot for visiting Douglas. We have stayed 3 times during IOM TT fortnight. As with many of the hotels on the island, prices seem to increase during this period as the IOM is flooded with visitors. If travelling for the TT races you will need to book 12 months n advance. Room had a sea view for which we paid extra. I don't know what the start rating is (or even if the IOM rates them as the rest of the UK does) but I would rate it at 3*. Room was a decent size, the view was of course very good, but the floor sloped away from the window and we had to put a towel under the mattress as we felt we were rolling out of bed, the net curtains and window frames were dirty and the bathroom needed re-tiling. Considering the £185 per night price tag there were no bathrobes, slippers etc and a very limited supply of tea/coffee/milk (and a notice to say extras may be charged for, which they weren't when we asked for more milk pots). Breakfast was very disappointing. I am vegetarian and don't eat a cooked breakfast. On the first day there were bread rolls and toast, no croissants, pastries etc, and subsequent days saw only croissants. I had porridge one day but it was mostly hot milk with very little oatmeal. the bar has a good atmosphere with all the bikers and other guests. I really think this could be a superb hotel if a bit of money was spent on it.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hypnochicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We checked in to a smallish, clean sea view room which was smaller than what we'd expected. The view was nice though. Rooms are not well sound proofed as we could hear the man next door coughing during the night ! If a light sleeper (like me) bring ear plugs. The menu and food in the brasserie was lovely but the waiting staff seemed busy as there was also a Michael Bublé tribute carvery on in the function suite. Waiting 20 mins to be asked for our drinks order is unacceptable in my book. Eventually drinks arrived after the starter. Apart from this, it was a most pleasant stay and breakfast was good the next morning but there was a lack of cutlery on the table and we had to ask for teaspoons and milk etc. It was nice getting the red rose, chocolates and champagne as part of the package we'd selected and staff were very pleasant - it just needs to be more organised in places.

Room Tip: Choose sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
347 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#7 of 17 in Douglas
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: Castle Mona Avenue, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing