We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy comes to the IOM”
Review of La Piazza

La Piazza
Ranked #39 of 154 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$63
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Italy comes to the IOM”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Unfortunately came across this restaurant at the end of my holiday, or else I would have visited several times.

The restaurant is clean and tidy with a nice atmosphere. I decided to try the Pizza Douglas (not a very original name I know), but was well pleased with my choice. This pizza has toppings of smoked salmon, small & large prawns and Manx queenies (scallops), plus the usual cheese and tomato. The pizza was of a good size and the toppings were generously applied. The base was also well cooked and not hard / burnt as sometimes found

Considered to be good value for money.

Service was efficient and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    72
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for a date or party”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Have been here many times, the chilli sauce that comes with the garlic bread is so tasty. I like the chicken dishes and they have a variety of pizzas. They play Italian music which I love. Many other 'Italian' restaurants on the island don't even have or play any Italian music. Most of the workers (Waiters and Chefs) are Italian, so if you want to practise your Italian with them you can! :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Pasta”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lively Italian restaurant, good food, quick service and good value. Ideal for family outing. Not a late night dinner venue rather early to mid-evening eating. Good choice of pasta and pizzas plus other dishes. Tasty desserts if you can find room for them!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MazCrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of man
Level Contributor
254 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fine. Nothing special.”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

If you fancy a simple Italian restaurant with nice enough food at a reasonable cost then La Piazza fits the bill. It's not amazing but it's decent enough. I wouldn't go here for a special occasion but will happily eat here for an impromptu evening out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

A group of Friends 9 (6 adults & 3 children) decided to go out and celebrate two of the parties birthday's.
We had no problem just turning up without pre-booking as ther have a large seating area. Very friendly staff and child friendly also with crayons and colouring pads for the children being supplied when we sat down.
Food did not disappoint either and the smiley face on the Garlic Bread was fun. Service was a bit slow but not so much to cause concern especially if you are in good company.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stubai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Piazza also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to La Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing