We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Alessandro's

Alessandro's
Ranked #16 of 155 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Isle of Man
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Called in for lunch. Lasagne and other dishes were heavy and gave the impression of not being freshly prepared in true Italian style. Decor looks tired in daylight. May be better in the evening. Still it's all about the food, particularly main dishes. Staff were pleasant and we were made to feel welcome. Sad therefore that the food was not up to speed. Hope it improves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    119
    33
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Little Italy”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We ate there twice during our stay. Décor is pretty, makes you think you’re somewhere in Italy. The prices were very reasonable and portions big. My friends had the pizza and I pasta. It was great food made with passion. The only drawback is that the waitrons struggle to speak English. But overall I was very happy with our experiences there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDutches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant with an excellent menu.”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Pleasant atmosphere with a little buzz even on quiet evenings. Very good range of choice on the menu - all tastes well catered for. Though with a very genuine Italian "slant" this is not a simple pizzeria -but a restaurant offering a full range of excellent dishes

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you have to eat here, choose very carefully.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Alessandro's state 'We love food, love cooking and we do everything with passion' I cannot believe I have just eaten in that same restaurant and was served a risotto which included processed chicken. It was horrible. My husband had pumpkin gnocchi however which was fine. I cannot recommend this restaurant at all based on my experience and their website is not at all representative of the reality of the place itself or the cuisine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Although we had booked a table in advance, it was not ready when we got there and there was a lot of hanging around.
Service was slow (waiting for drinks and food orders to be taken) but the food was delicious and arrived quickly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alessandro's also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Alessandro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing