We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short changed”
Review of Mereside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mereside
Ranked #12 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just back from a trip to the Isle of Man. We combed through the various different sites and found to our liking the Mereside hotel/guesthouse and judging from the great reviews and photographs we booked this hotel/guesthouse. Yes we agree it's clean and the breakfast is good but that's the standard you would expect when you are a paying guest. The rooms are not the same as the photos displayed. Our room was cramped. The oversized en-suite took over the room leaving us with a small 'L shape' to move around. The matrass was very soft and sank in the middle. On the positive side the hotel/ghouse it is in a quiet location It was just basic and clean and the breakfast was good. The staff and owners were polite and friendly. It wasn't worth what we paid and it would not entice us make a return stay.
What I would like to know is (1) What has happened to Douglas? (2) Why is it such an expensive place to visit and why is it so shabby and run down? (3) Why does everything close down early for supposedly a holiday destination and (4) Why isn't there any decent place to eat especially in Douglas? The restaurants leaves a lot to be desired and believe me we walked miles on our three night stay to get a decent reasonably priced three course meal. The menus in our hotel and indeed the other hotels were overpriced and beyond our budget i.e. a starter costing £7.
The Electric and Steam Railway experience was great. We were ripped off in the Railway Cafe it cost £4.95 each for a coffee and scone and it was self service. The horse drawn tram up and down the prominade was very pleasant also eventhough the conducter was a bit gruff with us for some reason.

Room Tip: don't be fooled by the photographs of beautifully decorated rooms, ask to see the rooms first if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank seasonedtraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

The staff were extremely polite. The rooms were very homely and decorated very nicely. The food was beautiful. I would deffinitley recommend the Mereside to a friend as i had a pleasant stay and will return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoldyLocks_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My wife and I had a great stay and we were made very welcome by the friendly staff. One of the best breakfasts you will ever find in a hotel

Room Tip: a quiet location and just a minute from the promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed at Mereside for 5 nights and were very satisfied with the experience. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom,recently refurbished, was well furnished and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were very good and there was a choice of menu ( my husband loved the Manx kippers which were on offer each day). There was a lift to all floors

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila300656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

If you want stiff, starchy and servile, this is not the place for you. If you want warm, friendly and welcoming, you'll love it. I visited with my 95 year old dad. I thought the hill may have been a problem, but it wasn't. He had an en suite wet room, which given his difficulty with steps, was great, as was the ramped access. Rooms were light and bright and immaculate. Food, where possible, is locally sourced, fresh, and perfectly cooked. There was a good choice at breakfast, and we ate at HQ every night! The staff were friendly, and couldn't have been more helpful. We really enjoyed our stay, and, based on our experience, wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Mereside

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessop1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Mereside. The owners were on holiday but the manager and the other members of staff were very welcoming and helpful from the moment we arrived.
We stayed in room number 8, which was a large and spacious room which was situated on the second floor at the front of the hotel with 2 large windows, with a partial sea view. The room was very clean, modern and comfy.
My 2 children slept on the sofa bed which was made up on arrival.
Towels and toiletries were layed out on the bed when we got there and tea, coffee, hot choc, horlicks sachets and biscuits were in the room also, the basket was filled on a daily basis.
The beds and room was also made up and cleaned on a daily basis, and if we wanted clean towels we just left the used towels in the bath and they were changed.
One downside of the room was it was very hot at night and could do with a fan, but it wasnt to much of a problem as the windows were big enough to let a breeze in as long as it wasnt raining.
Breakfast was excellant, with a choice of a full breakfast, manx kippers or pancakes and toast. You could also help yourself to a choice of cereal, coffee, fresh fruit, yogurts and fresh juice. Kids loved the pancakes, which they got plenty of.
We didnt have time to eat at the Hotel at night as we were always out and about but the prices seemed reasonable and they also had a small selection of childrens meals.
When we return to the Isle of man we will be looking into booking this Hotel for our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirree0976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

On a positive note, the breakfast was excellent as was dinner and rooms relatively clean. However, we stayed for six nights and sheets and towels were not changed once. On several occasions the tea/coffee basket was not replenished, which we had to chase. Information in the room said that early continental breakfast could be arranged and we were offered cheese and pickle sandwiches! Breakfast is 8 - 9 a.m. only, this even for travellers catching the morning ferry and needing to check in before 8 a.m. On the whole, we found the staff helpful but not always available. Because of scaffolding, disabled access was through a side door which was often locked and a search had to be made for staff. A residents lounge would have been useful, and for the price expected. Parking was described as free, nearby. It was in fact, street parking which was not always available, especially at busy times.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adelphi
Adelphi
#8 of 37 in Douglas
157 reviews
0 mi away
Glen Mona
Glen Mona
#11 of 37 in Douglas
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mereside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mereside

Address: 1 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £60 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mereside 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mereside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mereside Hotel Douglas
Mereside Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing