We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value choice”
Review of Mereside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mereside
Ranked #9 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good value choice”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here for one night on business in May to keep costs down. Good value decent size clean room. Mattress on the bed needed replaced as it wasn't particularly comfortable but otherwise no complaints. Wi fi worked well and was easy to connect to and didn't regularly cut you off. Breakfast was excellent. Bit of a walk though to the business district particularly if its raining and cold which it was.
Would I stay there again next time? Yes. As good as some of the more expensive business hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalTraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    27
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
27
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I've stayed here 3 times now and enjoy it more each time. It gets all the basics right - comfortable rooms, decent showers, good food (excellent steaks), friendly service, real ale, wifi that works. Parking can be tricky, but that applies to all the hotels round here. Excellent value-for-money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAJMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Brenda and I spent a week here in mid-March.
When we booked, we thought that we would arrive at a 'run of the mill' guest house. Certainly, that is what was indicated by the very reasonable prices. How wrong we were, this is high quality wrapped in a smallish package. The Mereside, together with 2 others situated nearby, is owned by Angela and Ian and run by Chris (the General Manager). Our room was spacious, spotless and had a sea view (It was one of the Executive Rooms for which we paid a trivial amount extra).
My wife is partially disabled but this was absolutely no problem here (disabled access, lift etc.).
The breakfast was traditional Manx (the same as English but nearly twice as much!) and was served at a convenient time. It was excellent.
The staff were megga-efficient and could not do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We did have somewhat of a surprise when we opened the door to the dining area and realised that it was, in fact, a full bar/restaurant (with a large and varied menu) serving food throughout the day. 'Specials' on a Wednesday (steak night) and Thursday (Mexican night) were exceptional value for money.
The bar manager was Hayley and what a lovely friendly attitude she had. Having singled out Hayley, it should be said that all the staff we met were fun to get to know.
The location was great as it was only yards from the 'prom' and a short walk into the main part of the town. Brenda and I will most certainly stay there again and will recommend it to our friends and family. We could not fault any aspect of our stay and can happily give all aspects ten out of ten.,
Alan and Brenda (Cardiff)

Room Tip: Pay a tiny bit extra to have one off the Executive rooms. We did and it was money well spent. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for one night B. B. with a isle of deals voucher,£40 now that was excellent value .This place is just out of this world as it has got everything going for it nice friendly staff,lovely well appointed rooms great location just of douglas promenade, an as for the breakfast i hope you have a hearty appetite.I have also stayed in there sister guest house which also gives you the same standard of the mereside, but you do have to go to the mereside for your meals,it is only 10 meters away so should not be a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postman1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed at the Mereside with my friend who is disabled. It is very wheelchair friendly with a lift to the bedrooms. It had a wet room which was well equipped for disabled users. The staff were really helpful and friendly. They couldn't do any more to make you feel welcome. The food was lovely and everywhere was spotless. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone. It is quite close to the town centre and a couple of minutes walk to the promenade. All I can say now is thank you to everyone at the Mereside for an enjoyable stay. Visitors from Weymouth.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie_montgomerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The Mereside is a good solid guesthouse with some great staff that make you feel like one of the family - and fantastic value for money. I would recommend to a friend but for my next trip to the Isle of Man I may check out other options.

Room - I had a spacious room with a big shower room that was kept clean. There was even a partial sea view. Decor, lighting, an amenities were average. Bed was a good size but could use replacing.

Service - The staff at the Mereside are excellent at making you feel welcome and providing great inside information for the Isle of Man. I arrived early on a Saturday and was promptly checked in. Please keep in mind however, this is a guest house so if you're expecting a 24-hour front desk/concierge this is not the place for you.

Food - I had one meal - the Sunday lunch. I like my beef quite a bit rarer, but aside that the food was tasty and the service was good.

Location - I would say it depends on what you're in Douglas for, but generally it's centrally located. It's right in-between the Electric and Steam railways. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main business district and most bank offices.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
690 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband & I stayed at Mereside Guest House for 4 nights during our first visit to Isle of Man together with my in-laws. We had initially inquired with Glen Mona but they were full so the ‘sister’ property, Mereside was suggested, and we had no regrets!

It was a perfect location – close to the center of Douglas and 1 block back from the seafront. There was a Tram and bus stop just at the bottom of the hill which made it hassle-free for catching a ride anytime to the harbor / ferry terminal.

The food in the HQ restaurant is as-good or better than some of the restaurants around town.

The breakfasts were very nice – tasty, served hot & quick every morning! The bar doubled as a buffet counter each morning and beautifully laid out with fresh & dried fruits, yoghurt, pastries, cheeses and juices – more than enough to be filling without a full cooked breakfast! Excellent indeed!

Mereside is run more like a small hotel than a mere guest house. We were continuously refreshed with coffee, tea & amenities daily. The staff were ultra polite, friendly & efficient. The modern elevator was a nice addition and very handy for my in-laws. The beds were extremely comfortable and enveloping and encouraged a sound and restful night’s sleep. The only challenge to this was the weekend pub crowd at the bar across the road but with the windows closed and curtains drawn, it helped drown out the noise.

We were overall quite comfortable. The only thing that we would recommend changing was the set-up in the bathroom with a partition or curtain being placed between the shower area and toilet as every time you took a shower, everything else in the bathroom got soaked, including the toilet, mats, etc. You’d have to wipe down everything after a shower and if you had to use the bathroom at night after an evening shower, the floor would be completely wet. We also had to request our towels to be changed after the 2nd day as they were soaked from mopping up all the water. It would be nice for the hotel to provide extra bathmats for anyone staying in Room #2 to ease the inconvenience abit.

Chris Tompkins, the General Manager gets to know each guest personally and greets all by name. He was a delightful character, entertaining us with his wit & wisdom during our evening dinner, drinks or desserts.

The outside seating area was enjoyable in the morning sunshine. If we got back before dusk, we also enjoyed sitting out for drinks.

The Mereside and its wonderful homely hospitality made our Douglas experience truly enjoyable, comfortable and memorable! Thanks Chris & staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mereside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mereside

Property: Mereside
Address: 1 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mereside 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mereside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mereside Hotel Douglas
Mereside Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing