We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel guest house on the Isle of Man”
Review of Mereside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mereside
Ranked #10 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed during the busy TT Race week. A very friendly place. Staff were amazing and very helpful. Food was superb and plentiful. Room was bit small but very comfortable. Overall would stay here again as it was informal, friendly and clean. Location in the middle of the promenade equal distance from either side of the promenade made it ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RizaJ_731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

A very friendly place. Staff were amazing and very helpful. Food was superb and plentiful. Room was bit small but very comfortable. I would highly recommened this place if your looking for a relaxed friendly atmosphere with good food and service.
Thanks everyone for the wonderful stay...
Eddie Holland

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Came to Douglas for business and managed to enjoy the trip due to the good food and friendly feeling of the hotel.
Breakfast included Manx Kippers and dinner Queenie Scallops in cream sauce. I recommend both of these local delicacies.
I stayed in the sister to the HQ restaurant, the Mereside and the water heating wasn't up to the demand on a couple of occasions. When you want to bathe you need a bath! The shower in my room was electric so that was always available but not the five star experience. Otherwise the room included all the usual extras and was always clean and tidy. Also the wifi was free and worked well Recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alastairrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the Rosslyn for a couple of days to see a the TT practice laps and also visit the island for the first time. No complaints whatsoever - rooms were lovely, clean and had everything you needed, breakfast was spot on. Ate in the restaurant one night and again food was great and staff helpful and friendly. I had read some reviews on here and was not sure what to expect - but I should not of worried. The Rosslyn is ideally placed two mins off the prom and 5-10 mins away from the grandstand - but the walk is uphill, that helps to work the breakfast off though ;).
If you are looking for a great location and also good value book the Rosslyn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oopsadaisydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Hotel .Staff. location .spotlessly clean. Food ..ales...comfort EXCELLANT. One of best small hotels we have ever used Highly recommend it. We shall return .
Even when our flight was cancelled a room was made ready for us in case we had to find our own accommodation.
Thanks to Hayley and Chris.....

Alan & Linda .11-2-14

Room Tip: Rosslyn and Glen Mona . run and owned by the same people and guests there said the same as us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Having stayed at a few 4-5 star hotels this year we werent expecting too much from a guest house but were pleasantly surprised. The room and facilites were very good. The staff (and regulars) were extremely friendly and helpful. We went out of season so it was quiet but I am confident the staff are as attentive all year round. The food overall was of a good quality although slightly disappointed with the sunday lunch but this may have been due to time of year. The location was ideal, set just off the centre of the promenade but if you dont fancy a 10-15 minute walk into town it is 2 minutes from nearest bus stop. We really enjoyed the breakfast and particular thanks to Chris who worked the early and day shift. Our room was a good size with an en suite walk in shower room. The Mereside is like the Isle of Man itself, well maintained, clean and friendly. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to the island.

Room Tip: We only experienced room 7 so cannot compare to the other 7 rooms. We had two windows with a side v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JG2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

visited the isle of man last week, what a superb place to come and see such beautiful scenery and had the pleasure of visiting the hq bar ( mereside hotel bar ).
the bar is quite well decorated bright and cheerful, as was the bar manager, an absolute pleasure to be around and seemed to make everybody feel welcome and nothing seemed to be a hassle...
from what i could make out some sort of boxing tournament was being held somewhere on the island and a few of them attended hq bar at the same time as my party (3 of us ).
although a little boisterous no problem to anybody....

however the problem started when the owner of the bar made an appearance and started causing a bit of a to do with one of the boxing crowd, she seemed quite intoxicated and was using such language you would only hear on a building site, and at one point the said "owner then proceeded to pick up a chair and what seemed to threaten the man.. to see such terrible behaviour from an owner is appalling..
if i was in that position i would have summoned the police.. ( do not know if police called ) as we decided to leave some minutes later...

if you can put all this aside it is a great atmospheric bar to visit..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lurgengent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 15 in Douglas
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mereside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mereside

Address: 1 Empire Terrace, Douglas IM2 4LE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £59 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mereside 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mereside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mereside Hotel Douglas
Mereside Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing