We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lads weekend away great”
Review of Sugarland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugarland Hotel
Ranked #25 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lads weekend away great”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The other reviews are spot on. It's a bit if a tired hotel but spotless clean, very good location, nice breakfast and the guy who runs it was great.

Don't stay there if you are looking for luxury but for somewhere to stay for the night which is clean and tidy then this was just great for what I needed as it was a lads weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheFirrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
11
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

a good familey run hotel,clean and tidy,not very modern,very nice owners and staff,chinese food very recomended as is english,very good breakfast,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andy2964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We went as part of a motorbike group for the May bank holiday weekend. I'll be honest. If I had chosen a place to stay this wouldn't have been top of my list but then I'd have probably paid too much elsewhere.

The hotel is an old seaside resort hotel but it's good basic accommodation. The staff were very nice and certainly helpful. The breakfast was definitely worth getting up for. The location, on the promenade, is good but there are lots of hotels around it so that's not much of a selling point.

The rooms had everything you'd expect but are not modern. However, they were properly clean which is very important to me. At night it was a little noisy so you wouldn't be sleeping with the window open but it didn't disturb me too much.

Overall. Good, basic, comfortable, accommodation at a very keen price.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColmDAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

a no frills type of place good location need some money spending on it but owner makes you feel welcome can be cold and a bit damp i sopose you get what you pay for

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mancmanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piraju, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

When I arrived in Douglas (coming from Liverpool, via Steampacket), I leaved the port and started walking on the Promenade, and Sugarland was the first hotel I saw. As I wanted to stay in a place near the port, I decided to take a look. The owners and the staff were extremely friendly (always a good signal), so I elected to stay there. The room was small and the furniture was obsolete, but the view to the sea was pretty gorgeous, and the hotel is close to almost everything in Douglas (restaurants, supermarket, fast food). Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manticora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trevelyan Hotel
Trevelyan Hotel
#21 of 22 in Douglas
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athol House
Athol House
#11 of 27 in Douglas
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mereside
Mereside
#12 of 27 in Douglas
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarland Hotel

Property: Sugarland Hotel
Address: 14-17 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugarland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sugarland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarland Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing