We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”
Review of Trevelyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trevelyan Hotel
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“value for money”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for the Manx for the 2nd year running and met up with the same people who were there last year and many years before.
The staff are all helpful.
The rooms may be small but very clean and the beds both years running were very comfortable.
Breakfasts always served hot and efficiently.
Will defintely be back next year.
Delia is great! She gave us breakfast and let us leave our luggage to enable us to get up to Paddock to save having to wait until check in time. (we arrived at approx 6.30am off ferry)
Good location.
Great value for money! People who stick their noses in the air - if you want any better then get your hands in your pockets!!! You won't find better staff anywhere.

Room Tip: if you are given a room youre not happy with, ask to change! You cant blame people if you dont tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evaline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2015
Thank you for your feedback on behalf of the Trevelyan it is very much appreciated! We as a business are forever evolving and expanding to meet the needs of our guests and are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Trevelyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    18
    10
    25
See reviews for
19
21
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Randalstown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

i am a hotel chef./ manager by trade. i am known to the Maguire family. i have stayed on and off with these people out of the T.T Treated like a member of this, excellent family. wat are you people complaining about! i am a classicly trained chef. ive worked and stayed in all types of hotels all over Europe i never had anything to complain about ask it will be done!. it really annoys me when people work as a team to satisfy u all you need to do is ask!, i would personally like to thank Delia, Diilly James , Thomas the T.T barman( barrister by proffesion)Timmy the all round guy. Delia, doin a great job keep her hit!i nothing is to much for this family to make your stay on Mona isle a specail TIME looking foward to being with u next May /June 2014 for more great hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask Delia she will sort u out with your package rember guys prices are low, breakfast is goood espic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2015
Thank you for your feedback on behalf of the Trevelyan it is very much appreciated! We as a business are forever evolving and expanding to meet the needs of our guests and are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Trevelyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

have stayed this hotel for last 10 years and always feel most welcome! both delia and dilly are perfect host !rooms are excellent and the price is good to location to beach and transport is very good !and breakfast is really nice and served with a smile and chat

Room Tip: i had sea view en suite and was great view and nice and quiete
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2015
Thank you for your feedback on behalf of the Trevelyan it is very much appreciated! We as a business are forever evolving and expanding to meet the needs of our guests and are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Trevelyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here on several occasions for both short and long stays. The price is decent unlike bigger hotels and the staff are friendly and welcoming. Any issues are dealt with quickly and unlike bigger hotels you are not made to feel like you are moaning. The reception is welcoming and that food is amazing.

Room Tip: Highly recommended and pick a Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JollyTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2015
Thank you for your feedback on behalf of the Trevelyan it is very much appreciated! We as a business are forever evolving and expanding to meet the needs of our guests and are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Trevelyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013


My friend Dorothy and I are returning in September for our annual five days" ladies time off ".We can't fault the hotel or the staff.Delia , the owner, always makes us welcome and the sea view rooms we have are really good .Absolutely no complaints ,very central for all our requirments and it is lovely to wake up in the morning and see and hear the sea .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottyhighpeakfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2015
Thank you for your feedback on behalf of the Trevelyan it is very much appreciated! We as a business are forever evolving and expanding to meet the needs of our guests and are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Trevelyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My friend Irene and I are going back to the Trevelyan for the fourth time this September. We have been given two different single rooms (with sea view and en-suite facility) and never have we been disappointed with our rooms. Delia always makes sure there is tea, coffee, sugar etc. in the rooms. Towels are changed and we are only there four nights. The breakfast is great, plenty of toast as well as cereal and fried breakfast. I think some people expect the hotel staff to be servants and answer to their every whim. For heavens sake the island is so fantastic that all we need good clean accommodation, comfy bed, fantastic sea views and that's what we get. The price is very reasonable and we love going there. The rooms without en-suite are cheaper so if you don't like sharing a shower then get your money out and pay for the convenience of your own bathroom. My friend and I both work in retail and there are an awful lot of people who just love to complain about every little thing. Stop moaning and just enjoy the whole Isle of Man experience. Dot

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2015
Thank you for your feedback on behalf of the Trevelyan it is very much appreciated! We as a business are forever evolving and expanding to meet the needs of our guests and are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Trevelyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My dad, my partner and myself stayed here for TT 2013! We had a fabulous stay and couldn't fault the hotel or the staff in any way! Yes there was some noise but after all its TT and TT spirit! We have booked again for TT 2014 and are more than happy to be staying at the Trevelyan! The room was lovely! Towels and bedding spotlessly clean and all facilities you might need were available! The breakfast was beautiful and piping hoy every day at what is a very busy time for the staff! Delia and her family and staff could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome! In 2012 my dad was knocked off his bike on the way to TT and Delia and her family really looked after him for which I am very grateful! I would recommend the Trevelyan to any body wanting a warm welcoming stay during TT and cant praise the Trevelyan enough!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter but the sea view is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2015
Thank you for your feedback on behalf of the Trevelyan it is very much appreciated! We as a business are forever evolving and expanding to meet the needs of our guests and are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards,
Trevelyan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Melrose Guest House
Melrose Guest House
#17 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
8.5 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#21 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevelyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevelyan Hotel

Property: Trevelyan Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trevelyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevelyan Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing