We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dark and smelt and uninviteing”
Review of Trevelyan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trevelyan
Ranked #34 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2009

i booked a room over the phone as theres no other way to book, the woman i spoke to told me she had a sea veiw room at 25pounds each a night i asked her if ther would be entertainment on as we where arriving on a mon - thurs she said yes there would be. We arrived about 2 30 pm on 20th july 09 the outside of the large sea front hotel was impressive with the lovely display of flowers and tt races arrangement so we went in expecting a good welcome . What a dissapointment it was dark with dreary coloured paint on the walls it smelt like an ashtray and nobody to been seen for about 5mins when a man appeared i told him i had booked over the phone then he said" ok if you want to wait outside ill get somebody to see you .
We waited again for 5mins when a woman came to the small reception desk i checked with her the price of the room " yes 25pounds she said " then i asked her was it sea front she said "oh no those rooms are 27pounds a night each " then i asked her what entertainment was on she said in a abrupt voice " theres no entertainment thers only 8 people in the building so its not worth it ". another lady who worked there appeared the she then asked her to change the pillow cases on our room ,we both thought what about the rest of the bed sheets ect not happy and with a back room i asked to see it she replied " well which room do you want to see " in a few seconds she then said "i dont think we can help you here so you d better go somewhere else ". i said that wouldnt be a problem and left .
we stayed at the thisledo guest house in woodville terrace douglas what a differance a friendly welcome clean nicely decorated room and dave and carol where the most helpfull and accomodating hosts nothing to much trouble we will return there

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margarete852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hello margarete852, thank you for your review of the hotel in 2009. First of all, I would like to report that you never actually went into any room and therefore did not see any rooms. All bedding is changed on a daily basis, that includes pillow cases, covers and duvet covers. Prices for rooms are advertised on the Department of Tourism's Website and at no time would you have been told incorrect prices.

As you did not stay in the hotel, we believe that your comment is highly incorrect and that you should consider removing the comment that is FALSE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Diac Rui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank andlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Evitate assolutamente questa struttura
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SusyDudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevelyanIOM, Manager at Trevelyan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
666 reviews
0 mi away
The Penta
The Penta
#18 of 37 in Douglas
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adelphi
Adelphi
#8 of 37 in Douglas
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.9 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevelyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevelyan

Address: Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £44 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Trevelyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevelyan Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing