We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable with quality food and attentive service”
Review of The Gallery Restaurant - CLOSED

The Gallery Restaurant
Price range: US$44 - US$110
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: For those among us that like high quality food cooked by award winning chefs and a restaurant that provides true service and comfort then the Gallery Restaurant is ideal. We have a large selection of mouth–watering dishes to tempt you including a Flambé service at your table. The Gallery has been awarded a second Rosette.The Sefton is very proud to provide our guests with complete homemade dishes – even our Ice Cream is legendary with flavours such as Pistachio and Tiramisu. Wherever possible we use only the finest locally provided Manx produce which presents you with a true flavour of the Isle of Man. Table-d'hote menu available by pre-arrangement. For further details on both the restaurant and the private dining room, please call 01624 645500.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable with quality food and attentive service”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had been told that restaurants on IoM left a bit to be desired, so did not know what to expect when we were taken here!
First impressions for me were superb, very tastefully decorated in pale yellow and black which works so well especially with all tables properly laid up with sparkling cutlery and glassware.
I had looked up menu on web prior to us going and thought it looked good, well let me say not only did it look good it tasted brilliant.
It was presented exceptionally nicely and served very attentively. A good wine list.
The only reason it has a four rather than a probably deserved five, is that it was quiet and lacking a little atmosphere.
But that's being really picky, I have a feeling that this place will be consistently good and am looking forward to going back next time I am on the Island.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent eating place”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Food, staff and service is sceond to none, would recommend to everyone. Food is excellent, could not fault in anyway.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank elsie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We went here for a friends birthday bash. It wasn't very busy, however it was middle of the week. Food excellent, staff very friendly and helpful. Range of wines and beers was limited, bit surprised at this for such an expensive eatery, thought would be a whole host of wines etc.

Food was served hot and very tasty, staff were helpful although there was only two people working within the restaurant and we thought we had to wait quite a bit for our main courses.

Overall very good, but need to improve on the wines / drinks on offer and perhaps more staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Elegant dining”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Many of the restaurants in Douglas belong to the three-star resort hotels. They are pleasant, but fairly nondescript. The Gallery aspires to a higher standard of elegance, and for the most part meets that standard.

Service is generally very attentive. I had a rich tomato-and-basil soup, followed by beef and mushroom stroganoff with rice and vegetables. They were delicious and presented nicely. Dessert was a tasty white chocolate cheesecake with a passion fruit sauce, also presented very nicely.

This restaurant is particularly appropriate for business travelers who need a venue to entertain. (This is appropriate, since the hotel is also very appropriate for business visitors.)

My meal, including a glass of wine and a Manx coffee afterwards, came to thirty-eight pounds; more than one would pay at other restaurants in the area, but worthwhile as an occasional splurge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPatPsaltis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Enjoyed a delicious meal here with friends and the whole experience was great from start to finish. I enjoyed the flambeed Manx medallions of beef with a peppercorn sauce which was cooked to perfection and utterly delicious! The service was very attentive and the venue was nicely decorated without being too fussy. The only slight downsides were the limited choice of desserts, the rather plain bread rolls provided at the start of the meal & the fact they only had instant decaf coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gallery Restaurant also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing