We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evocative of the past”

Isle of Man Bus and Rail
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
Attraction details
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Evocative of the past”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We really enjoyed our many trips to and from Douglas and Port Erin on this charming old steam train with its closed carriages. We got loads of beautiful photographs of the island from the train and treasure our memories of these trips.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    183
    28
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Diane”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We went on the Halloween train which was absolutley fantastic. Food was gorgeous and they had the atmosphere spot on. However, we also went on the train at Christmas and it was terrible from start to finish. First of all they didnt have the wine I wanted, and only one choice of another one. the food was cold and tastless. The seats we were sitting in were freezing, and I had to keep my coat on whilst eating to keep warm. Extremely overpriced for what we received. They didnt even bother decorating the train with any Xmas decorations to give it a Christmassy effect. The Halloween decorations were brilliant, along with the music they were playing which added to the atmosphere and overall experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fairytale ride through a storybook island”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

From the stations, to the trains themselves, to the conductors, to the views, this is an experience that cannot be missed. You feel like you're back in time, or in a fairytale paradise. Do it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank socali123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressive, but needs a little TLC”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

While this is still great and most of it's historic trains are on the line, some of them aren't being as loved as they should. For example, the window on one side of a carriage we got on to Castletown didn't work simply due to a jammed belt which would only take a few minutes to fix.That said, it's an experience which should not be missed while on the Isle of Man as it's simply incredible from the feeling of the power of steam, the first class carriages(when both windows work!) and the beautiful views along the line.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank foreveryoungmystery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steam”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

A very enjoyable journey through pleasant countryside. It brought back memories of a bygone era! A good trip for the steam buffs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KH286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Man Bus and Rail also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Isle of Man Bus and Rail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing