We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chugga Chugga”

Isle of Man Bus and Rail
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
Attraction details
New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chugga Chugga”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The steam train was a fun experience and quite useful as it services some of the best Manx history locations.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bleuzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    183
    28
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dinner on the train”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Ate a fabulous meal on the steam train. Loved sitting watching the beautiful scenery go by as we dined.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank suegriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“An essential part of visiting IoM”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

No one should visit the IoM without riding on the Steam Railway. Excellent value when an Island Explorer ticket is used.

My only gripe is that they close the platform when shunting or and when no train is scheduled to depart; this makes it difficult to photograph the different engines and carriages used.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank alias_Ned_Flanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely well keeped railway”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

How great it was to go back in time.in a carriage pulled by one of the little engines.
We queued in the lovely little café at the station in Douglas to purchase tickets from a guy behind a sweet little hatch. We were shown where to get a timetable for the return journey and then proceeded outside towards the train. The carriages are accessed via single doors with solid brass handles. Once slammed shut there is no way of opening the door from the inside of the carriage. The widow therefore needs to be lowed via a leather strap to access the outside handle. Fantastic! Of course there are guards at all of the stations to assist if needed.
It is a rickety ride as the train proceeds across the Island, stopping at very well kept and pretty stations.
We went the whole way to Port Erin but would have liked to stop off along the way as others were doing but time was against us. At Port Erin the free small museum is very interesting providing information on not just the railway but on other historic points of the Island. I think in general the I.O.M. is overpriced but the £12.40 paid for this attraction is worth every penny.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank waterfronteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Moving back in time..”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

As so many others have said we also travelled from Port Erin to Douglas on the steam train and then took the horse-drawn tram along the seafront. It does have to be pointed out that my husband is a steam train enthusiast so this one was really for him!! But it was great fun..interesting little museum at Port Erin with a great film .. Very well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucylocket87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Man Bus and Rail also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Isle of Man Bus and Rail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing