We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves to be No. 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellan Vannin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Deserves to be No. 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I wrote a review a couple of years ago on our first visit, having found the Ellan Vannin very pleasant, but with some limitations. Since then it has been taken over by a couple who have really started to improve an already nice hotel. It has had work done in several areas and is now a fantastic place to stay. The owners are planning further upgrades, so I anticipate it will get even better. I am not surprised it is currently the No. 1 B&B in Douglas. Its status is well deserved.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SeamasterSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    120
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
72
194
49
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Please note this review of Ellan Vannin is that of my daughter and her friend and I have been asked by them to submit it on their behalf:

Due to the recent bad weather on the I.O.M., I was recommended to contact Pauline, of the Ellan Vannin Hotel, who was very pleasant and helpful to me. My daughter and her friend wanted to escape the wet conditions on the site they were camping at and because they were very impressed with the meals and their accommodation, they have asked me to write this report on their behalf and I have already booked them in for another stay there in 2013.

Room Tip: Those seen looked very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have just spent 2 nights here after being in a tent for 7 days, the owners went out of their way to accommodate us and were very welcoming. The room was comfy and warm, and the breakfast was lovely, carnt wait to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eltraffardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Absolutely brilliant service ! Saved us from a washed out campsite and managed to get us in next year for TT race week !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBK247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were on the island for the TT and camping at Union Mills Glenlough. After 2 days and persistant rain the site conditions were appalling. We dicided to pack up and look for a hotel which was not easy. When we came across Ellen Vannin hotel Paul and Paula the proprieties couldn't do enough to help and offered to put extra beds into a room for the first night and change for the second. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. On check out paul and paula allowed us to store our bike luggage and equipment in the lounge and also had no problem with us chillin out while we waited for our ferry, they even left a water urn on in case we wanted hot drink . All in, excellent service and made to feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afree501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire,England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

'Her that must be obeyed' and me have just returned from a weekend in the Isle of Man staying at this super B&B.
Pauline & Paul made us very welcome and were very good hosts even sorting out some of the nicest weather ever !
The room we had was perfect for our needs and everything we needed for our stay.
The breakfast is to die for ! ( I now have endless swimming and walking sessions to work it off !)
This is a super place to stay and I know that it will be our booking for when we next return to the Island.
Thank you Pauline & Paul.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapper1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

This hotel provided the warmest most genuinely welcoming experience I have had at any hotel. The room was clean and comfortable but the hospitality of our host and hostess was superb. They are a lovely couple with a genuine interest and determination to provide a relaxing and enjoyable stay. An exceptional pack lunch was provided daily but all meals were provided with variety and and quantity and a clear intrerest that they are givng customer satisfaction. I wish Paul and Pauline every success and sincerely hope they succeed in obtaining the four star status that in my view they richly deserve. Best Wishes to them both

Mike Skilton

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inglewood
Inglewood
#2 of 27 in Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellan Vannin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellan Vannin Hotel

Property: Ellan Vannin Hotel
Address: 31 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LY
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellan Vannin is situated in a superb position on Douglas sea front, facing the historic and picturesque Tower of Refuge. The majestic sweep of Douglas bay can be enjoyed from the sea view rooms and the very comfortable guest lounge. We are just minutes from the main shopping area of Douglas. five minutes from the ferry terminal and main bus station. The famous steam railway and electric tram are a short stroll. We provide home cooked evening meals, a free high speed internet connection and a great cooked breakfast including Manx kippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ellan Vannin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellan Vannin Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing