We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great charity .. and a great day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home of Rest of Old Horses

Home of Rest of Old Horses
Ranked #6 of 40 things to do in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a great charity .. and a great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

A visit to the horses home is excellent value for money. No admission charge and you can buy pony nuts for about 25p or £1 per bag. Children and adults love it and you can feed the horses and donkeys easily. A tearoom and gift shop are also on site and well worth a visit too. The Christmas Santa grotto is a lovely experience with even the donkeys in the stable too ! It feels really Christmassy ! A very worthwhile charity and one which we support and adopt a horse and donkey each year as it's such a good cause.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    33
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ballina co mayo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ANNUAL VISIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We find the way that Jill and her team of helpers look after the retired horses very inspiring and we have no problem adopting a couple of horse as we know our money is put back into the running of the home. Good Luck Jill till next year.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank maureenh_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely Old Horses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

My daughter loves horse and its great to see them enjoying themselves in old age. we have visited the Isle of Man for for a long time and always look forward to seeing the Horses Rest Home lovely staff and cakes in tea room

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

The horses have 93 acres to roam and the staff are so caring. They rely totally on charitable donations and being allowed to feed the horses made or visit most memorable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RGK027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“horseing around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

so many adorable old horses at this attraction, even little shop, cafe and stalls to buy bits and pieces to fund the animals care

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank anonCheshireUk a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Home of Rest of Old Horses also viewed

 
Peel, Isle of Man
 

Been to Home of Rest of Old Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing