We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turn the clock back 100 years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manx Electric Railway

Manx Electric Railway
Ranked #2 of 40 things to do in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Turn the clock back 100 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We traveled from Douglas to Ramsay via Laxey and It was such an enjoyable experience and the views and scenery were breathtaking, a recommende must on a visit to the Isle of Man

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    725
    282
    42
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

A good way to see the island. We travelled from Douglas to Ramsey and the views are beautiful. The train was busy due to the TT and leg room was limited. Great that the seats can be turned the other way to ensure you have good views whichever direction you travel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Manderj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon wiltshire
Level Contributor
180 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Quaint and a delight to travel on, lovely views though the sheep have a habit of walking along the line and holding up the train, they seem oblivious to the whistle telling them to shift. Saw a Wallaby too on the way up.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fuglycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Two for one .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not only is it a great picturesque coastal ride from Douglas to Ramsey but it is even better if you get of at Laxey and take the electric rail car up to the top of the mountain Snaefell .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank vagabondMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fun day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We took the Manx Electric Railway all the way to the top to see the views as it was due to be a lovely, sunny day. It was a lovely, sunny day in Douglas but not at Snaefell! It was absolutely freezing but the cafe is good and the hot food and coffees were very welcome. Shame not to see the view but the overall journey was worth it. Great scenery and a good way to see another part of the Island.
Staff were lovely - I left my travel pass in the hotel as I had swopped coats but I showed them my receipt and no problem at all. In fact it was quite entertaining as they made a joke of it - apparently no 675 in the list of excuses!
We sat in the enclosed carriage on the way up and the open carriage on the way down - better views in the open carriage but can be cold so wrap up warm.
It is also a bit of a bone shaker but that is half of the fun.
The views are stunning - do make sure you make the journey all the way to Snaefell if you have the time - I imagine that the view is worth it if the cloud clears long enough to see it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ME7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manx Electric Railway also viewed

 

Been to Manx Electric Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing