We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC FOOD”
Review of JAR Restaurant - CLOSED

JAR Restaurant
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We went to Jar Restaurant last week and was amazed.
Every thing we ate was delicious - served by lovely courteous staff.
Our fillet steak was undoubtedly the best we have had...what a special evening.
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves good food and friendly staff!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHIRLEYD531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“New menu and very very slow service”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Firstly I still think people are mixing up Jar restaurant upstairs with Jar bar below as the picture and some of the meals people are talking about are certainly the bar menu downstairs.
This was my second visit to Jar restaurant and after being very pleased after my first visit I was pretty disappointed this time. We had booked a table for 6 people for 8:30 and arrived on time. We were asked if we would like a drink in the bar area before going to our table and advised this would be best as they were currently serving a table and it would save waiting to be served at our table. This was not a problem until drinks came and went and more needed to be ordered. We did not get to sit at the table until after 9:30 and were then left before orders were taken. We had the menu for the hour we were sat in the bar section so did not need more time. Once the orders were taken it was obvious the delay was all down to one table of about 13 people but if a restaurant can not cope with that then they have serious management problems. We were not served our starters until after 10:30 and did not finish until gone 12:00. Once the food did arrive it was good but the whole experience had been spoiled by the long wait.
The menu has completely changed and although we did not have a problem with this surely if you are changing a menu so comprehensively you should let people know that when booking or at least show the new menu on the website instead of the old one. I appreciate menus change but this was a complete change in menu concept rather then a couple of changes to the menu choice.
The waiting staff were good and can not be blamed for the kitchen staff not organising their time and order properly.
I am not sure if we will risk having the same problems again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manxtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OVER PRICED”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Mischarged constantly (almost every round) staff moody - at times unpleasant. venue too hot.
the only redeeming factor was the staff member who was serving food and took the trouble to ensure I had a plate of suitable buffet. toilets dirty. music was either too loud or inaudible.
didn't appreciate people smoking on the stairs immediately outside the door

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not to our liking”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Food very salty and restaurant difficult to get into as one of the party has trouble walking and climbing stairs

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

From the picture & some of the reviews I can notice that some people are mixing up the restaurant upstairs which currently holds 2 AA rosettes with the bar & grill in the basement.
Front of house staff seemes to have changed from our last vist but the chef is still the same one.

We had Manx king scallops & the shellfish risotto to start which were great, and both of us had the local wild turbot with chorizo butter for our main course, as usuall the fish did not fail to impress! I had the lemon curd while my other half had the chocolate fondant both nicely presented.
Prices seem to have gone down slightly from our last visit.
Keep up the good work & amazing fish ;)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney8519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JAR Restaurant also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing