We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some serious shortcomings”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Henfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some serious shortcomings”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Reception area was quite impressive but the actual reception was not particularly welcoming or friendly and there was a bit of a language barrier.
On arrival at our room,205, our first impression was very good. Big room with large bay window overlooking the sea. Then we started to unpack two med/lge suitcases and to our surprise there were NO DRAWERS in the room. When I spoke to the duty manager I was informed that all the rooms were like that. Not much consolation. They were unable to provide any more furniture even though there was more than ample space to do so. Having booked for five nights we left after three as we were fed up with living out of suitcases.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karibaHenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    244
    119
    45
    22
See reviews for
67
265
51
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co.down northern ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

we stayed here for a long weekend. the rooms are small, very basic and old style decore. bring a hair dryer as the one there hs little to no power in it.
good breakfast, although waiters hover close by and lift your plate, i was taking a break from my fry and next minute my plate was gone and wasn't finished. staff where helpful enough.
we stayed on the first floor and the night club was right below our room, horrible nights sleep. i contacted reception but he didn't seem at all bothered or aplogise. i had to move the tea cups as they were vibrating with the noise. beds weren't at all comfy. hotel rooms where clean and tidy, however house keeping came round every morning at 9am, to early when your on hoilday to relax.

Room Tip: ask to be placed any rooms but the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnjenanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

we´ve been there for the TT, very comfy Hotel, staff is very friendly , rooms are tidy, good room service, breakfast, Dinner great, various choices.

Room Tip: the room I had so far was nice and calm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IOMGitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The hotel has lots of steps up to reception, so may not be ideal for everyone. The sea view room was brilliant........and the shower nearly blasted me away.....so powerful! The Aroma restaurant on an evening is worth a try. Eat as much as you want - lots of different choices. I am a fussy eater but went there on 3 different nights. The lemon cheesecake was absolutely awesome! I guess there was one downer and that was the creaky ceiling from the room above. The occupants seemed to be up at strange hours! The staff were brilliant - helpful and friendly. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaWalkerOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopwas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

we stopped at the empress for 8 days in may my wife booked the hotel for my 65 birthday i usually pick the hotels etc
after looking on trip advisor i was a little concerned
but when we arrived everythink was fine we had a larger room sea facing
lovely views the room was nice furnished excellent bed easy chairs etc
breakfast excellent self service food replenished and checked regularly
all the staff were very pleasent
we had our evening meal in the hotel 3 nights
once in the buffet with a excellent selection of english.indian and chinese dishes
at a very reasonable price they use the breakfast room for this
we eat in the lovely restuarant 2 nights with lovely views out onto the bay
the menu,wine and food was excellent at a reasonable price
must make one comment
the waiters in the restuarant were excellent helping we items on menu and also the service they provided

we would stay here again if we came back to the island

Room Tip: try and go for larger sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rammie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allanton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The Empress came to our rescue when we stayed on the island for practice week of the TT. Fortunately they had a room available to rescue us from The Devonian as the prospect of being kept awake again until 4am was unbearable! The room was only £15 more and was twice the size, quiet, and we enjoyed a good self service breakfast.
We had a room at the back of the hotel (104) There was some noise from the aircon units outside but not really noticable with the windows shut. The Empress is in a prime location on the sea front but near enough to walk up to the grandstand for all the action. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenandnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My wife and I were resident at the Empress Hotel for 12 days during May 2011. We had previously stayed for 6 days in June 2010. The standard of cleanliness in this instance, and to some extent previously, left a lot to be desired. We had come to the Isle of Man for the Walking Festival.

The check-in was very good and the member of staff on duty did offer to have our luggage taken to our room but we were able to manage.

Our room was on the second floor and looked reasonable at first glance but further investigation after we had unpacked made us unhappy. The bedspread was stained but was changed on request the first time. The new one was still marked but was never changed again. This was reported and no action was taken even though we reported it again the next day. The valance was filthy and was only changed after constant complaint but not for five days!! Then only one side was changed!!

This was the same room that we had stayed in in 2010. The décor was very tired then and there had been no effort to change it. Wallpaper was proud of the wall in a number of places, exactly as in 2010.

The room was not vacuumed every day, we complained after five days when it was then done. It was done for a few days but then it was not done again before we left although we complained.

The fixtures and fittings in the room were broken and unable to be used without being repaired first e.g. the main light had to be rewired the day after we arrived because it was faulty.

The room was not up to standard as the curtains were badly hung and filthy, particularly the nets. They appeared to be in the same state as last year when we complained.

The bathroom is in need of attention and decoration, again, in the same state a last year.

The hot water broke down the day before we left and had we not ventured to ask we would not have been informed.

The food was not up to standard despite a new menu. We used the Piano Bar Menu for the meals we took at the hotel. Specific complaints with regard to this are as follows:

• The portions were not consistent i.e. the same dish could be larger or smaller
depending on the Chef.
• Items were missed off particular dishes on at least four occasions i.e. Chef not
including ingredients as described in a particular dish.
• The food was cold and had to be returned to the kitchen.

There were issues with breakfast in that there did not appear to be enough staff or you were ignored when you tried to attract their attention

There was a lack of some things at breakfast e.g. Bananas not available on at least three occasions and brown bread not available on at least two occasions.

In the very early hours of Sunday 22nd May, 2011 we were awakened by a loud disturbance coming from directly outside our room. We did not venture out but heard everything that went on including the language and the screaming. This disturbance kept us awake for some considerable time and ended up with the arrest of one of the guests and two going to hospital. No apology was offered by the hotel to any guests on the second floor and we only got one because we complained.

The cleanliness of the public areas was good but there was a shortage of staff and at times they were hard to locate.

In general we felt that the standards had fallen from last year and that the décor was in sore need of updating, particularly the rooms.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view if you do stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PCAnswers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#14 of 17 in Douglas
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Property: The Empress Hotel
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an ala carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing