We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Empress Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
211
266
136
47
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
266
136
47
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barthe penthousesea viewburger barisle of manexecutive roomcentral promenadelarge hotelsingle roomkippersbuffet breakfastreception staffsea frontcoach partycoach triplovely hotelself service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
584 - 589 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2011

On booking into the hotel, we made it very clear that we where here working nights, and even with "Do not disturb" signs up, my collegues and I all had cleaners banging on doors every single day, phone calls from reception asking to vacate rooms while they were cleaned and once even waking up to find a cleaner in the room. Plus no Air Con in the rooms made sleeping during the day near on impossible.

Breakfast was ok on one morning, but went so down hill afterwards, I decided to skip them altogether.

The hotel seems nice, little outdated perhaps, just wasnt suited to our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaomiRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Reception area was quite impressive but the actual reception was not particularly welcoming or friendly and there was a bit of a language barrier.
On arrival at our room,205, our first impression was very good. Big room with large bay window overlooking the sea. Then we started to unpack two med/lge suitcases and to our surprise there were NO DRAWERS in the room. When I spoke to the duty manager I was informed that all the rooms were like that. Not much consolation. They were unable to provide any more furniture even though there was more than ample space to do so. Having booked for five nights we left after three as we were fed up with living out of suitcases.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karibaHenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

we stayed here for a long weekend. the rooms are small, very basic and old style decore. bring a hair dryer as the one there hs little to no power in it.
good breakfast, although waiters hover close by and lift your plate, i was taking a break from my fry and next minute my plate was gone and wasn't finished. staff where helpful enough.
we stayed on the first floor and the night club was right below our room, horrible nights sleep. i contacted reception but he didn't seem at all bothered or aplogise. i had to move the tea cups as they were vibrating with the noise. beds weren't at all comfy. hotel rooms where clean and tidy, however house keeping came round every morning at 9am, to early when your on hoilday to relax.

Room Tip: ask to be placed any rooms but the first floor
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnjenanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

we´ve been there for the TT, very comfy Hotel, staff is very friendly , rooms are tidy, good room service, breakfast, Dinner great, various choices.

Room Tip: the room I had so far was nice and calm
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IOMGitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The hotel has lots of steps up to reception, so may not be ideal for everyone. The sea view room was brilliant........and the shower nearly blasted me away.....so powerful! The Aroma restaurant on an evening is worth a try. Eat as much as you want - lots of different choices. I am a fussy eater but went there on 3 different nights. The lemon cheesecake was absolutely awesome! I guess there was one downer and that was the creaky ceiling from the room above. The occupants seemed to be up at strange hours! The staff were brilliant - helpful and friendly. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra for a sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaWalkerOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews