We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (925)
Filter reviews
925 results
Traveller rating
302
349
178
59
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
349
178
59
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar the penthouse burger bar sea view isle of man executive room central promenade kippers single room buffet breakfast coach party lovely hotel reception staff sea front coach trip evening meal electric railway
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 925 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Chose this hotel because of the location which is ideal as central and more things for children, the room we had was a standard room but spacious very clean and warm, especially when it was blowing a gale the day we arrived.
The receptionist that checked us in was attentive and went out of her way to help us with all our queries, Josh helped us with luggage and Lucas the barman served us lunch, which was very nice , plus the rest of the staff are very friendly, which sort of made our stay due to a relaxed family atmosphere even in a large hotel. People are too quick to write when they have a complaint which is why I thought I would omment. I hope to return there next year, hopefully the Irish Sea will be a be calmer next time.

Room Tip: We had a family room but saw a sea facing on the day we checked out and looked lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

If you are looking for some where to stay in Douglas then you wont go far wrong staying at the Empress.
Room was ok, breakfast was excellent and the location could not be better.
Staff very friendly and always helpfull, not sure about the room prices though as we stayed there on expenses.
Would go back though and spend my own money staying at the Empress, no problem, but would have to get a sea view room next time because the view from the room i stayed in was of a dodgey back yard with a chimney and a/c units to look at.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view, we booked 5 rooms and all were looking into quite a grotty back yard.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned hoem after a lovely stay at the Empress Hotel. We arrived on the seacat which was just 15 minutes walk from the hotel. The staff were very welcomeing from the minute we walked into the hotel. They had to resturaunts and a very good bar menu. We tried the food in all 3 places and found it very good quality. We stayed in a suite which was a good size with separete seating area overlooking Douglas Bay very relaxing to look at at night. The room was clean and serviced daily. Overall we found the Hotel excellent value for money and we will definatley be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belfastguyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Was on the Isle of Man over the Easter week end for a freiends wedding which was held in Douglas at The Empress Hotel.

We had a great stay comfortable room at the back of the hotel as we booked late and were not able to get a seaview, however rooms was very clean well stocked with tea tray and good bed with duvet, shower was great very good and hot water was hot.

We had a very lovely meal at the reception and well served , not often one finds silver service as this was and all very hot and tasty, wine was good also.

Staff all very friendly and smart in blue shirts and matching ties, a good stocked bar with great half bottles of champagne again good as often a full bottle gets wasted.

The breakfast was buffet style with a good selection and plenty of Tea & Coffee, my partner had Manx Kippers which he said were to die for.

The over all experience was good on our first visit to the Island, and value for money, we were lucky as the weather was marvellous.

Room Tip: It is always good to have a seaview room when close to the sea, but book early we were late and
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

booked 3 nights double room over easter, the room was tiny had to dance round each other to move but on the whole the room had everything you need for a stay
bath tiny !! but as not partying only washing in it it did the job
the hotel is ideally situated right on the promenade easy to get to shops, bars etc
staff all friendly and the hotel is very clean all the way through
breakfast was buffet style and plentiful, kippers, porridge etc to be ordered and cooked to order
our only problem was that whether off the buffet or ordered it went cold very quickly not sure why
would we stay again yes for definite more for location than the room

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnybrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews