We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
293
337
175
57
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
337
175
57
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barthe penthouseburger barsea viewisle of manexecutive roomcentral promenadekipperssingle roombuffet stylecoach partyreception staffsea frontlovely hotelcoach tripevening mealbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 896 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Empress for 4 nights in April 2012.

The hotel is in a great location, right on the promenade, about a 5 minute walk from the centre of Douglas.

The room was clean and well decorated, with a good sized bathroom with both bath and shower.

Good choice for breakfast (buffet) with Manx Kippers being available on request - which were very good.

Also a very comfortable bar area with views of the sea which was very well patronised.

The only critisism would be the temperature in the bedroom, which was always too hot for us, even with windows open and the radiators turned off.

All of the staff were unfailingly helpful, and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliffite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Chose this hotel because of the location which is ideal as central and more things for children, the room we had was a standard room but spacious very clean and warm, especially when it was blowing a gale the day we arrived.
The receptionist that checked us in was attentive and went out of her way to help us with all our queries, Josh helped us with luggage and Lucas the barman served us lunch, which was very nice , plus the rest of the staff are very friendly, which sort of made our stay due to a relaxed family atmosphere even in a large hotel. People are too quick to write when they have a complaint which is why I thought I would omment. I hope to return there next year, hopefully the Irish Sea will be a be calmer next time.

Room Tip: We had a family room but saw a sea facing on the day we checked out and looked lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

If you are looking for some where to stay in Douglas then you wont go far wrong staying at the Empress.
Room was ok, breakfast was excellent and the location could not be better.
Staff very friendly and always helpfull, not sure about the room prices though as we stayed there on expenses.
Would go back though and spend my own money staying at the Empress, no problem, but would have to get a sea view room next time because the view from the room i stayed in was of a dodgey back yard with a chimney and a/c units to look at.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view, we booked 5 rooms and all were looking into quite a grotty back yard.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned hoem after a lovely stay at the Empress Hotel. We arrived on the seacat which was just 15 minutes walk from the hotel. The staff were very welcomeing from the minute we walked into the hotel. They had to resturaunts and a very good bar menu. We tried the food in all 3 places and found it very good quality. We stayed in a suite which was a good size with separete seating area overlooking Douglas Bay very relaxing to look at at night. The room was clean and serviced daily. Overall we found the Hotel excellent value for money and we will definatley be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belfastguyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Was on the Isle of Man over the Easter week end for a freiends wedding which was held in Douglas at The Empress Hotel.

We had a great stay comfortable room at the back of the hotel as we booked late and were not able to get a seaview, however rooms was very clean well stocked with tea tray and good bed with duvet, shower was great very good and hot water was hot.

We had a very lovely meal at the reception and well served , not often one finds silver service as this was and all very hot and tasty, wine was good also.

Staff all very friendly and smart in blue shirts and matching ties, a good stocked bar with great half bottles of champagne again good as often a full bottle gets wasted.

The breakfast was buffet style with a good selection and plenty of Tea & Coffee, my partner had Manx Kippers which he said were to die for.

The over all experience was good on our first visit to the Island, and value for money, we were lucky as the weather was marvellous.

Room Tip: It is always good to have a seaview room when close to the sea, but book early we were late and
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews