We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Man oh Man"”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“" Man oh Man"”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

One of the most awfull hotel I have ever stayed in, in my business and traveling career.
I loved the Islanders though especially our taxi driver, we got to see alot in the 1,5 day we were at the Island.
Very unfriendly front desk person, not attentive and a disgrace to the ownership of this hotel.
Since policy is policy No early check in! just wait in the bar area !!!! till WE are ready.
most unprofessional attitude I've ever seen. Bar food while waitingv to check in was below standard en partly cold, with a smiling waiter: The beer was ok but to beexpected since from a reknown Netherlands make.I asked him " What are you smiling for" ... NO answer ... I told him
YOU just wait and smile after you see your tip!" End of conversation and no more smiles till we left.

Room Tip: Do not go here unless you like to have the rudest experience in a live time. I've been and tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    234
    117
    45
    22
See reviews for
64
251
49
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I went to the Isle of Man for a long weekend with the missus recently and stayed at The Empress. I've stayed at this hotel a few years ago and remember liking it. It was however the first time my wife has stayed here and the Isle of Man for that matter. The terrible weather meant that we spent more time in the hotel than we intended but this wasn't necessarily a bad thing. Our room overlooked the beach front giving a fantastic view. The room itself was nice and cosy, even though it was huge. The bed was big and comfortable, the shower had good power, all of things I expect from a good hotel.

The hotel's restaurants were great. We managed to eat in all 3 of the restaurants. The Aroma, which serves a buffett for dinner was good with decent choice and fresh. The Conservatory restaurant was very nice. This exceeded our expectations, the food was excellent and the evening was very nice. It certainly gave us a sense of occasion. Finally the Piano Bar, we spent a lot of time there in the evening and during the day for lunch. It had a very relaxed atmosphere, which was perfect for us. The food was delicious and the portions were ginormous. I definitely feel like I got value for money not just with regards to the food but the entire stay.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, be it the reception staff, bar staff, waitresses, whatever I didn't have a bad word about anyone. Im a big fan of motor racing so was interested in the TT route. A guy at the reception, Trevor, if I remember correctly, was a petrolhead like me and if you ever want to know more about the TT or driving routes on the island, he's your man.

All in all, no complaints and we had a brilliant time, save for the hurrendous ferry journey to and from the island.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just back from a my weekend stay at The Empress Hotel. This was my second visit to the hotel. The hotel was originally recommended to me by friends who are very well travelled and again we were not disappointed.

We arrived in the middle of a heavy downpour but received a very warm welcome from the reception staff. Our room was modern, a good size and spotlessly clean with a great shower and comfy bed. Although the hotel is situated on a main road, we couldn't hear the traffic but instead we got an amazing view of the bay!

The hotel is in a superb location just minutes walking distance from the main sights and shopping areas in Douglas. Overall, the staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. It seemed nothing was a problem for them (and I don’t say this lightly as I am a bit of a stickler when it comes to good customer service!!). For dinner, after seeing the menu at “The Conservatory” restaurant (there are three different restaurants in the hotel!), we decided to eat in the restaurant and were thoroughly impressed with the quality of food and value. We also had lunch in the Piano Bar on our last day and again the food and service was very good.

For me, the Empress Hotel has everything - It is very conveniently located, first rate customer service, lovely spacious rooms, use of a gym and sauna facilities and great (and excellent value) dining options. All the individuals in the party I was with could not fault this hotel. We will definitely be back again - a real winner!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westendlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Empress for 4 nights in April 2012.

The hotel is in a great location, right on the promenade, about a 5 minute walk from the centre of Douglas.

The room was clean and well decorated, with a good sized bathroom with both bath and shower.

Good choice for breakfast (buffet) with Manx Kippers being available on request - which were very good.

Also a very comfortable bar area with views of the sea which was very well patronised.

The only critisism would be the temperature in the bedroom, which was always too hot for us, even with windows open and the radiators turned off.

All of the staff were unfailingly helpful, and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliffite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

If you are looking for some where to stay in Douglas then you wont go far wrong staying at the Empress.
Room was ok, breakfast was excellent and the location could not be better.
Staff very friendly and always helpfull, not sure about the room prices though as we stayed there on expenses.
Would go back though and spend my own money staying at the Empress, no problem, but would have to get a sea view room next time because the view from the room i stayed in was of a dodgey back yard with a chimney and a/c units to look at.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view, we booked 5 rooms and all were looking into quite a grotty back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Was on the Isle of Man over the Easter week end for a freiends wedding which was held in Douglas at The Empress Hotel.

We had a great stay comfortable room at the back of the hotel as we booked late and were not able to get a seaview, however rooms was very clean well stocked with tea tray and good bed with duvet, shower was great very good and hot water was hot.

We had a very lovely meal at the reception and well served , not often one finds silver service as this was and all very hot and tasty, wine was good also.


Staff all very friendly and smart in blue shirts and matching ties, a good stocked bar with great half bottles of champagne again good as often a full bottle gets wasted.

The breakfast was buffet style with a good selection and plenty of Tea & Coffee, my partner had Manx Kippers which he said were to die for.

The over all experience was good on our first visit to the Island, and value for money, we were lucky as the weather was marvellous.

Room Tip: It is always good to have a seaview room when close to the sea, but book early we were late and
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

booked 3 nights double room over easter, the room was tiny had to dance round each other to move but on the whole the room had everything you need for a stay
bath tiny !! but as not partying only washing in it it did the job
the hotel is ideally situated right on the promenade easy to get to shops, bars etc
staff all friendly and the hotel is very clean all the way through
breakfast was buffet style and plentiful, kippers, porridge etc to be ordered and cooked to order
our only problem was that whether off the buffet or ordered it went cold very quickly not sure why
would we stay again yes for definite more for location than the room

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnybrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 17 in Douglas
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Property: The Empress Hotel
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an ala carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing