We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week on Isle of Man”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great week on Isle of Man”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

A return visit to the island after 30 years. Hotel location is excellent for travel around the island. Staff at the hotel are helpful and attentive without being intrusive.Our room was large and at the front of the hotel overlooking the bay. Worth paying the extra for an executive room. Double glazing is very effective at noise reduction however it was very warm this week and had to decide whether to open windows or not. Traffic noise dies down fairly early however the sea can be a bit noisy at high tide. Food in the hotel was very good,well presented and piping hot.
breakfast deserves a special mention.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOTTICAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    223
    110
    44
    22
See reviews for
58
233
46
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Visited on a 5-night coach trip and received excellent service and very enjoyable food. The breakfasts were particularly good. Our sea facing room (105) was spacious and comfortable. The bar and sun lounge provide a very pleasamt area for relaxing, and a pianist entertains each evening. .

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed at the Empress Hotel on the 30th of August for three nights in a twin room with my mate to watch the Manx G.P. All together we had no problems with this hotel the staff were very helpful if you asked for any information and left you alone if you did not req any help. There are good points and bad points with any hotel but to be honest the bad points are only very small ones so i will start with those .
1 - The bar prices are a bit steep not a problem because we went out every night to the near by pubs etc.
2 - The carpet on the stairs could use a deep clean.
3 - There is a noise from the kitchen extractors ( our bed room faced the rear area of the hotel)
this was not a problem as they switched off at around 10.30 - 11.00 pm Being out all day we had no problem falling to sleep .However the fans did start back up at around 6.00am
4 - There is a kebab house next door to the hotel that stays open very late on Saturdays (early hours of the morning) some noise from there but someone must have had a word with the staff on the reception as the offending people were soon moved on by a police woman.
Good points.
1 - Central location on the prom easy walking to either end of town.
2 - Breakfast was excellent and was of a buffet style full English or continental and you could keep going back for more if you wanted.
3 - Rooms were serviced every day (beds made, towels replaced, rooms hovered out e,t,c.
4 - Bathroom was of a good size with a power shower, bath and hair dryer.
5 - A lift to all floors ( lifts are only small so if you have loads of bags you will have to to two trips).
6 - Very good staff.
General location/area.
As i said at the start it is centrally located on the prom as we were on motorcycles we could park on the footpath but if in a car i am not sure where you could park other than on the road The prom road is a parking zone so you will need to obtain a parking indicator/time wheel/permit card these are easy to get from the shop on the ferry or the welcome center in the ferry terminus or even the hotel and are free. There are benches and tables on the front lawn of the hotel to sit and people watch if the weather is good , this area is also swept every morning (it is mainly used as a smoking area though) In general the Isle of Man is a bit dearer than the mainland but there are still bargains to be had with both food and drink (Jaks bar & Queens head and also The Terminus Inn for food & Sam Webs & Quids inn for beer)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timeoffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Kirkby West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay at The Empress. Been for the Manx Gp week. Expected prices to be inflated , but to such an extent!! Paid more than top whack for a small room looking into a wall and other room windows. Housekeeping staff do a good job though and we could not complain about the cleanliness, breakfast is good, lots of choice, from cereals to fresh fruit, a good cooked selection constantly refreshed and as much tea, coffee and juice as you can drink. Bar prices are expensive even for a hotel, as is the restaurant. Hotel seems to be staffed (as seems to be the norm in a lot of places) by predominantly eastern europeans, not a problem until you need assistance from the ones whos english is not very good. Not acceptable at any price, never mind what this hotel charges. Speaking of charges, £4.95 per day for use of the Wi-fi, come on!! this is the 21st century. In an age where we are all in touch all the time, this hotel needs to get with it. We would have sat in the bar (buying expensive drinks) for a least a few hours during our week whilst catching up with friends, surfing the net etc. Instead we went and spent our money elsewhere. There are numerous places all around the town who will let you onto their wi-fi free, a couple of our recommendations would be The Queens Hotel, five minute walk down the prom toward the electric railway. A good pint, reasonably priced, friendly staff and an excellent bar meal, freshly prepared and with good quality ingredients. Sam Webbs is good for a drink and occaisional live music, head toward the town, the pub is on a corner at the start of the shopping precinct. And one place we can't recommend highly enough for the food is the restaurant underneath Jaks, fantastic steaks, cooked to perfection, excellent waiting staff, brilliant, (you may have to wait a little while but its well worth it) their place is opposite the prom, heading toward the ferry terminal. Overall our stay on the Island? We enjoyed. (first time my wife has been) but could not help feeling a little bit robbed (£1.50 for a cup of the worst tea i've ever tasted, from a burger van) If you're going for the TT or the Manx, be prepared to be taken advantage of.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeletaxi1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Our room was lovely, spacious, clean, quite comfortable but we had a view at the back of the hotel which was not good when you know how nice it is at the front but what troubled us more was the noise from the air conditioning for the kitchens. We were told in an abrupt manner at reception that it would cease at 10.30pm and they had no other available rooms for us. It did not cease until 12.15am, by the end of our stay we had grown use to the noise. The food here was really good hearty food with the best sausages I have eaten at an hotel. Kippers were not so good though unfortuately!!! The rooms where a bit of a maze but well sign posted. I was disappointed at no swimming pool as the pictures looked really good. I really enjoyed the Isle of Man as the people are really friendly. The hotel is quite a distance from the ferry port and from town but it is easy to hop on a horse and cart or a bus to get there. Bar prices are really reasonable with a lovely area to sit in. This is a nice friendly(except one person on reception) relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: try to change room if you hear the air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have just returned from a ten day break on the island, our first visit. As commented the hotel is well positioned on the prom, and is near to all the town facilities. Although the room was "standard" and we arrived with some trepidation after reading some of the reviews commenting on the "poky" rooms our fears were misplaced. The room was spacious with desk, chairs and a sofa along with a perfectly acceptable bathroom and clean. The maid service staff were very polite.
The piano bar is a good size and very well appointed, the bar and restaurant menu both providing decent food at prices not greatly different from the many eateries in town, which on the whole also tended to be rather good. Breakfast was also good and as well as the buffet items manx kippers were cooked to order which were lovely.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Empress which will certainly figure on our list when we revisit the Isle, a lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

From the outside hotel looks spacious and grand and indeed the reception room and bar is. My room however was small, hot and noisy. Kept awake all night by the humming of machinery which was strange as the room had no air conditioning. Couldn't open the window as I faced onto a central courtyard which was full of noisy plant too (doing what?). Food in the restaurant was good but breakfast is a bit of a bun fight as you will often find yourself battling for a seat with coach tours. They also charge for internet access which these days is unacceptable. Next trip I'm staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffnutt09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#9 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Property: The Empress Hotel
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an ala carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing