We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Douglas”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 24 September 2012

As the title indicates, this is my favorite hotel in Douglas (have never stayed at other parts of the Isle) mostly because of the location and the sea views. The first time I stayed here I had a room in the back which was pretty boring. The rooms with the sea views however are excellent. I expecially enjoy walking along the promenade just in front of the hotel or catching a nearby bus to different parts of the island (the area where "Waking Ned Devine" was filmed is especially stunning). I only ate at the hotel once but the food was good on that occasion. Have never been there during the races so I don't know how noisy it might be during that time. When I've been there noise is not a problem. If I travelled with someone who had mobility problems this might not be the best option as there are steps and other possible hinderances. Otherwise, relax in the lobby and check out the decorative lighting along the promenade at night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

A last minute booking as our first nights booking at another hotel had not been fully to our liking. Was offered choice only of rear room (with attendant fan noise previously reported) or executive twin with sea view which we chose. A good choice - a large room with dressing area and huge bay window giving lovely views along both ends of the promenade from the hotels central position about 10 minutes from the centre of Douglas. The room was clean and looked to have been recently refurbished

The large bay which caught the sun for most of the day did mean the room became too warm unless the curtains were drawn during the day and the heat lasted into the night when it was necessary because of traffic noise to keep the windows closed with very effective double glazing. Air conditioning would have been perfect. Towels and linen were changed daily.

Our only gripe with the room was in the lighting with the main bedroom having only one upward deflecting light with a 9w long life bulb (old equivalent 55 watt) and two bedside lights with 7 watt bulbs which were totally inadequate for reading

Breakfast was standard self service fare with no menu but is was possible to get kippers, porridge and eggs other than scrambled or fried on request, all good quality and ample . Importantly it was kept warm whatever the time. Service was good

The hotel boasts 115 rooms and with only one small lift taking five people could mean waits at breakfast but was usually not a problem - except the day it didn’t work at all so if you have problems with steps ask for a room on a lower floor.

For a three star hotel it was surprising to be asked to pay for Wi Fi at almost £3per hour £5 per day so we declined the offer and used the local WiFi hot spots. Interestingly the hotel is now advertising free WiFi

We took dinner twice in the conservatory dining room where the food and service were good and it was possible to hear the pianist from the adjacent piano bar.

All staff we came into contact with were helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Book a room with sea view - worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The hotel is well-situated on the sea-front, with an attractive foyer and bar-area. We booked an executive room, which was supposedly bigger, with a sea-view. On the third floor it was true that our room was amongst the bigger ones, but it could not be called big by any standards. We had the sea-view, but right outside the windows also one of the blue floodlights that shines on to the facade for a good portion of the night. The double bed was comfortable, but not particularly wide. Breakfast was good and the staff friendly. The hotel is extensively used by coach parties, which means that individual guests have to fit in around their programme, as the breakfast room is very busy at the times when a group is there.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

A return visit to the island after 30 years. Hotel location is excellent for travel around the island. Staff at the hotel are helpful and attentive without being intrusive.Our room was large and at the front of the hotel overlooking the bay. Worth paying the extra for an executive room. Double glazing is very effective at noise reduction however it was very warm this week and had to decide whether to open windows or not. Traffic noise dies down fairly early however the sea can be a bit noisy at high tide. Food in the hotel was very good,well presented and piping hot.
breakfast deserves a special mention.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOTTICAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Visited on a 5-night coach trip and received excellent service and very enjoyable food. The breakfasts were particularly good. Our sea facing room (105) was spacious and comfortable. The bar and sun lounge provide a very pleasamt area for relaxing, and a pianist entertains each evening. .

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying extra for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed at the Empress Hotel on the 30th of August for three nights in a twin room with my mate to watch the Manx G.P. All together we had no problems with this hotel the staff were very helpful if you asked for any information and left you alone if you did not req any help. There are good points and bad points with any hotel but to be honest the bad points are only very small ones so i will start with those .
1 - The bar prices are a bit steep not a problem because we went out every night to the near by pubs etc.
2 - The carpet on the stairs could use a deep clean.
3 - There is a noise from the kitchen extractors ( our bed room faced the rear area of the hotel)
this was not a problem as they switched off at around 10.30 - 11.00 pm Being out all day we had no problem falling to sleep .However the fans did start back up at around 6.00am
4 - There is a kebab house next door to the hotel that stays open very late on Saturdays (early hours of the morning) some noise from there but someone must have had a word with the staff on the reception as the offending people were soon moved on by a police woman.
Good points.
1 - Central location on the prom easy walking to either end of town.
2 - Breakfast was excellent and was of a buffet style full English or continental and you could keep going back for more if you wanted.
3 - Rooms were serviced every day (beds made, towels replaced, rooms hovered out e,t,c.
4 - Bathroom was of a good size with a power shower, bath and hair dryer.
5 - A lift to all floors ( lifts are only small so if you have loads of bags you will have to to two trips).
6 - Very good staff.
General location/area.
As i said at the start it is centrally located on the prom as we were on motorcycles we could park on the footpath but if in a car i am not sure where you could park other than on the road The prom road is a parking zone so you will need to obtain a parking indicator/time wheel/permit card these are easy to get from the shop on the ferry or the welcome center in the ferry terminus or even the hotel and are free. There are benches and tables on the front lawn of the hotel to sit and people watch if the weather is good , this area is also swept every morning (it is mainly used as a smoking area though) In general the Isle of Man is a bit dearer than the mainland but there are still bargains to be had with both food and drink (Jaks bar & Queens head and also The Terminus Inn for food & Sam Webs & Quids inn for beer)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timeoffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay at The Empress. Been for the Manx Gp week. Expected prices to be inflated , but to such an extent!! Paid more than top whack for a small room looking into a wall and other room windows. Housekeeping staff do a good job though and we could not complain about the cleanliness, breakfast is good, lots of choice, from cereals to fresh fruit, a good cooked selection constantly refreshed and as much tea, coffee and juice as you can drink. Bar prices are expensive even for a hotel, as is the restaurant. Hotel seems to be staffed (as seems to be the norm in a lot of places) by predominantly eastern europeans, not a problem until you need assistance from the ones whos english is not very good. Not acceptable at any price, never mind what this hotel charges. Speaking of charges, £4.95 per day for use of the Wi-fi, come on!! this is the 21st century. In an age where we are all in touch all the time, this hotel needs to get with it. We would have sat in the bar (buying expensive drinks) for a least a few hours during our week whilst catching up with friends, surfing the net etc. Instead we went and spent our money elsewhere. There are numerous places all around the town who will let you onto their wi-fi free, a couple of our recommendations would be The Queens Hotel, five minute walk down the prom toward the electric railway. A good pint, reasonably priced, friendly staff and an excellent bar meal, freshly prepared and with good quality ingredients. Sam Webbs is good for a drink and occaisional live music, head toward the town, the pub is on a corner at the start of the shopping precinct. And one place we can't recommend highly enough for the food is the restaurant underneath Jaks, fantastic steaks, cooked to perfection, excellent waiting staff, brilliant, (you may have to wait a little while but its well worth it) their place is opposite the prom, heading toward the ferry terminal. Overall our stay on the Island? We enjoyed. (first time my wife has been) but could not help feeling a little bit robbed (£1.50 for a cup of the worst tea i've ever tasted, from a burger van) If you're going for the TT or the Manx, be prepared to be taken advantage of.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeletaxi1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: £65 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an a la carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing