We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying visit”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flying visit”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed 1 night bed and breakfast with rugby team, rooms very comfortable, staff obliging and the full english after a few beers too many on the saturday night was great. bar area is very welcoming with plenty of seating and a conservatory area looking out on the front.
Would deffinately come back with partner next time.
Dont know about the other food as only bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turkeylover49188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    236
    117
    45
    22
See reviews for
64
254
49
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights back in September.
Its decor and atmosphere in the piano bar area was pleasant and relaxing. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The room was big enough and the shower worked.The bed was very comfortable and the tea and coffee making facilities were excellent. By the time we got back from our lovely English Breakfast's our room had been cleaned. Very efficient.The food experience was good especially in the conservatory restaurant.and the sea view from the front room on the 4th floor was fantastic ! Pity about the weather but it was Sept I suppose.
However I didn't like carrying the luggage up the stairs at the front of the hotel.Could do with a small ramp alongised the steps. The biggest problem was the hassle with trying to find a parking space for the hire car and then trying to cross the very busy road along the promenade.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel and it was a great base from which to explore the Island. You just have to be careful where you parked overnight on the road outside within the 24 Hr spaces, as some places were time restricted with discs needed. Also you had to remember to book your table in the morning if you wanted and evening meal in the Conservatory restaurant.
Other than that a great experience and a lovely holiday, apart from the rain and windy weather.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a room at the front with sea view preferably on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

we had room 206, front twin. larger rooms so i'm told. great views of the bay. beds comfortable. bathroom good size, bath and shower. shower good power and easy to contol water temp. breakfasts were brill. so much to choose from. cleaned after you so room to pile up . all staff were helpful and friendly. room was very clean and done so every day. 1 window in the room would not shut.very quick to fix it as the storms were on their way.both places to eat at the hotel were good on price, quality and quantity. buffet well worth it. wish i could have eaten more. the conservatory was high quality food. not huge menu but at least 2 veggie opions. mushroom and leek strogonoff worth a try as was the lamb shank.
if you are to stay in douglas yes there are cheaper places but why go cheap and a dump when you can pay a bit more and get 5* service. treat yourself it's well worth it.
the only negative was the doors slamming but you find that in all hotels as you have to stay with idiots who don't know what handles are for.

Room Tip: pay the small extra for the front rooms. bigger and great views.206 was ours and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

As the title indicates, this is my favorite hotel in Douglas (have never stayed at other parts of the Isle) mostly because of the location and the sea views. The first time I stayed here I had a room in the back which was pretty boring. The rooms with the sea views however are excellent. I expecially enjoy walking along the promenade just in front of the hotel or catching a nearby bus to different parts of the island (the area where "Waking Ned Devine" was filmed is especially stunning). I only ate at the hotel once but the food was good on that occasion. Have never been there during the races so I don't know how noisy it might be during that time. When I've been there noise is not a problem. If I travelled with someone who had mobility problems this might not be the best option as there are steps and other possible hinderances. Otherwise, relax in the lobby and check out the decorative lighting along the promenade at night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A last minute booking as our first nights booking at another hotel had not been fully to our liking. Was offered choice only of rear room (with attendant fan noise previously reported) or executive twin with sea view which we chose. A good choice - a large room with dressing area and huge bay window giving lovely views along both ends of the promenade from the hotels central position about 10 minutes from the centre of Douglas. The room was clean and looked to have been recently refurbished

The large bay which caught the sun for most of the day did mean the room became too warm unless the curtains were drawn during the day and the heat lasted into the night when it was necessary because of traffic noise to keep the windows closed with very effective double glazing. Air conditioning would have been perfect. Towels and linen were changed daily.

Our only gripe with the room was in the lighting with the main bedroom having only one upward deflecting light with a 9w long life bulb (old equivalent 55 watt) and two bedside lights with 7 watt bulbs which were totally inadequate for reading

Breakfast was standard self service fare with no menu but is was possible to get kippers, porridge and eggs other than scrambled or fried on request, all good quality and ample . Importantly it was kept warm whatever the time. Service was good

The hotel boasts 115 rooms and with only one small lift taking five people could mean waits at breakfast but was usually not a problem - except the day it didn’t work at all so if you have problems with steps ask for a room on a lower floor.

For a three star hotel it was surprising to be asked to pay for Wi Fi at almost £3per hour £5 per day so we declined the offer and used the local WiFi hot spots. Interestingly the hotel is now advertising free WiFi

We took dinner twice in the conservatory dining room where the food and service were good and it was possible to hear the pianist from the adjacent piano bar.

All staff we came into contact with were helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Book a room with sea view - worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spiez, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The hotel is well-situated on the sea-front, with an attractive foyer and bar-area. We booked an executive room, which was supposedly bigger, with a sea-view. On the third floor it was true that our room was amongst the bigger ones, but it could not be called big by any standards. We had the sea-view, but right outside the windows also one of the blue floodlights that shines on to the facade for a good portion of the night. The double bed was comfortable, but not particularly wide. Breakfast was good and the staff friendly. The hotel is extensively used by coach parties, which means that individual guests have to fit in around their programme, as the breakfast room is very busy at the times when a group is there.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

A return visit to the island after 30 years. Hotel location is excellent for travel around the island. Staff at the hotel are helpful and attentive without being intrusive.Our room was large and at the front of the hotel overlooking the bay. Worth paying the extra for an executive room. Double glazing is very effective at noise reduction however it was very warm this week and had to decide whether to open windows or not. Traffic noise dies down fairly early however the sea can be a bit noisy at high tide. Food in the hotel was very good,well presented and piping hot.
breakfast deserves a special mention.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOTTICAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#3 of 17 in Douglas
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#14 of 17 in Douglas
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Property: The Empress Hotel
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an ala carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing