We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff and great food”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This hotel is on the promenade and has a lovely conservatory restaurant and bar overlooking the sea. The rooms are not luxurious but are clean and have everything that you need. The staff are mostly Eastern European and courteous and helpful. The standard of the food in both the buffet and the main restaurant is very good indeed and as a result we ate in the hotel for three out of four nights. There is a lot to do in Douglas and with the excellent public transport, it is easy to get to the rest of the island. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Avril F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

Have stayed in this hotel on business twice recently - both times I had a sea view room, the first time I had a suite. The hotel is well placed on the promenade, and affords great views across the promenade. Close enough to walk to town, but far enough out of the limelight - there's lots of stairs in an around the building, so not sure it would be good for disabled guests.
The rooms are a little dated, but clean and functional - decent shower, but toilet roll holders almost on the floor. Some rooms have poor provision of electric sockets, and the TV picture is not great. Good bar, and very good restaurant - the food is actually pretty spectacular - had both fish and streak, both were well made and presented. Good breakfast too. Not sure I'd want to stay there for a week, but for the odd couple of nights, it's perfect :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Me and my boyfriend and 4 other friends recently went to this hotel for the darts competition nearby.We got a ferry which meant that we would need an early check in at 7.30am, which was agreed on the phone would be fine. When we arrived only 2 of the bedrooms were ready while mine was not. The receptionist was rude and said that we would have to wait 8 hours until the other people checked out! After a bit of waiting in the receptionist area, he said that he would try and find us a room. When he found us one we took all outlr luggage up to the third floor to find tat the room had not been cleaned. We wnt back downstairs and told him we were not happy. He then told us to have breakfast while he found us another. ( we had to pay £10 per breakfast and had obviously been out for a while since the eggs were hard). When we finally got to our room it was extremly small and was boiling at night,. We wont be going again.

(By the way this is my first review on tripadvisor showing how angry and upset I was at the hotel)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lydz94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and enjoyed the faded grandeur and fantastic promenade location and bay views. This time i arrived late due to the very poor taxi service at the airport (if more than one plane comes in at once and you are on the second arrival, forget it you have to wait an age on a taxi - my advice if you are on al late flight in pre-book)). I arrived at 10pm hungry and in need of a drink. I was told the kitchen was closed but that there was an Indian Restaurant round the corner. I went to the Indian and was duly fed, but I would have welcomed some effort by the hotel to feed me - it's these little things that make the difference. My room was cramped but comfortable. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

When it comes to the Isle of Man I am biased because I used to live there. It is a wonderful place to live and to visit. The Empress was always a favourite with our friends who came to visit and now when we go back we chose to stay there. The staff are very helpful and the breakfasts are excellent. The hotel is in a great position on the prom. The room we had was clean and comfortable. The prices are reasonable. We are planning a trip for a group of friends in May and we have all booked into the Empress again - we really like the large lounge with views over the sea to gather in during the evening. First time guests need to know there is no hotel car park - but don't panic as there is always room on the prom. A tip for anyone travelling to the island for the first time - remember to pick up a free parking disc on the boat or at the airport. There are plenty of places where you can park for free for 2 hours - but you must display a disc.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed here for 10days last April (2012 )and we had a lovely room with a fantastic view of the bay ( which is similar to Naples but much greener and tidier). Its within walking didtance( and on the flat ) of the main shopping streetin Douglas and the buses which are frequent,and go all over the island, stop outside the door
The manager- who is Manx was very helpful and customer orientated- I asked for an ironing board and he brought it up here and then( no "we will contact housekeeping and one will be brought to your room" and you are still waiting three-quarters of an hour later)
It was all completed by the waiters who were all Bulgarian and fantastic observant but unobtrustive, attentive without being obsquieous,. We had stayed in a Best Western in Hampshire the week before, their dining room had only English staff the contrast between the twowas ernormous and not in the English favour

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the bay-just for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne901_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a few times now & each time it has been excellent.

Last time we stayed, we had the room with a sea view & even with the widow open all night the noise level was low. The room itself was a nice size but the only thing is the shower is in/part of the bath, as a shower person it’s a shame they don’t has a separate shower

The staff could not be more helpful even if they tried.

Breakfast, was all you can eat (including cooked), which is held downstairs in the restaurant, which at night turns into an all you can eat set price restaurant & the food was even better than the breakfast. The 1st time we stayed here, I as sick on the flight & we got to the hotel around 18:00, due to the amount of time/food the 2 of use had, the restaurant staff only charged for 1 person not 2.

There is a lift for all floors & on the ground level there is a gym

You are about 5 to 10 mins walk to the town centre from the hotel

We did not hire a car but any time we needed a taxis we use David Bates (07924 480 048), his knowledge of the island is great & can tell you the best places to eat

We would not think about staying anywhere else in the Isle of Man

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 16 in Douglas
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 16 in Douglas
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 16 in Douglas
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 16 in Douglas
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 16 in Douglas
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: £67 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an ala carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing