We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Andreas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our wedding”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had our civil marriage and reception at the Empress Hotel. It was a fantastic day better than I could have imagined. All the staff were friendly and very helpful especially Lucas (thank you Lucas). Brian made sure everything run smoothly even tho I was late (I was only upstairs in the penthouse suite) Thank you Brian everything was amazing food was brilliant...not one of my guests said anything different they all like the food (we had the carvery). Thank you also to Trevor who looked after us and got people to be quite when speeches were made. We can not thank you all enough for a brilliant day. We would recommend The Empress. The rooms was lovely too.THANK YOU. (Paul and Gill)

Room Tip: choose rooms to the front for views, even tho all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GIll F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    240
    119
    45
    22
See reviews for
67
261
50
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

First timer to the island and not disappointed by the hotel. Ideal location on promenade with excellent sea view and only 5mins from ferry terminal.
had room at front on hotel so fantastic view especially when sunrise at 8am
Rooms are large and plentiful with everything you would expect.
Staff very helpful and friendly, will return

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view can't be beaten
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I did not stay at this hotel but just went to the Brasserie inside for dinner. Since this restaurant is not listed among restaurants on Tripadvisor, I assume it is to be considered part of the hotel and can be reviewed here. I arrived at 6 pm (opening time) and got a table at the window with a nice view. The waiters (there were several, all male) were quick and reasonably attentive. I had a mushroom soup, which was all right, and then the "cod medallions with hand-cut chips and mushy peas", fish and chips in other words. The fish was fresh and very good, though it had some bones in it. The chips were disappointing: thick and mealy. I rarely eat chips, but if I do I'd like them to be thin and crispy. I did not touch these monsters. As for the mushy peas, I guess you have to be British to love them. (I am from the USA, originally from Austria.) For dessert I had tiramisu. To tell the truth, the only reason I went to this restaurant is because I saw it had tiramisu on the menu, which is my favorite dessert. I expected to receive a wedge of cake, triangular or rectangular. Instead, I was served a creamy concoction in an ice-cream cup. It contained the right ingredients (two ladyfingers on top, some croutons inside, coffee cream, whipped cream, a trace of coffee liqueur, even some strawberries on top), but it was as if the chef had forgotten to assemble the ingredients into a cake. It was not bad at all but quite rich because the coffee cream predominated. I would have preferred a traditional tiramisu, which is much lighter. So, this dinner was a mixed experience on the whole. The prices were a bit too high for the quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Splendid views of the hotel from the outside but once past the reception and dining area it was a real disappointment. No offer of help with luggage that had to be carried to room. Small lift necessitated queuing for use as lift would only take two people at a time with luggage. Alighting from lift stairs had to be negotiated to reach room that was on the small size and looking out directly onto a wall. If you wish to have a decent room with sea view prepare to request same and pay the sea view premium. On the plus side food was reasonable and all staff very pleasant

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

First visit to the Isle of Man, the hotel is in an ideal location to easily reach both ends of the sea front in Douglas. The entrance is smart and very well kept, and at the same time welcoming. The bedroom which we had was nicely decorated, very clean with a pristine bathroom, a twin room a bit on the small side but no problem as we don't need much space. The view from the window was of walls and a fire escape, but there again the whole front of the hotel is a conservatory with stunning sea views, so no need to sit in the bedroom to admire the view. As we were with a coach party we were given a room on our own for the evening meal, the food was quite acceptable if a little slow in coming, but all the staff were very pleasant, the breakfast was buffet style in the downstair dining room and was excellent, food well cooked and presented and a manager on hand to see everything was kept "topped up" We were unlucky with the weather it poured for 3 out of the 4 days there, but it is such a lovely island we enjoyed everything we visited. Would go there again.

Room Tip: Don't have room 312 if you have to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Spent five days touring the Isle mainly on the various railways and the Empress was an ideal base. Rooms were spacious, clean and tidy ,the food was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Very handy for the various modes of transport and central enough to be able to walk into the harbour area and to the electric railway end of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fordhamfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

recently spent three days in Douglas as part of a five day holiday coach tour. Two days were spent travelling so effectively the holiday was three days and four nights. The Empress Hotel is very well placed in the middle of the wide Promenade, with its tall hotels lining the road,(reminiscent of both Tenby and Llandudno for those in the know). On the Promenade, across the road from the hotels are some lovely sunken gardens, ideal place to sit for a picnic or just take in the glorious sights. This area also has a play area for young children. The road has tram rails for the horse drawn trams, which take passengers up and down the prom at regular intervals.
the hotel is well presented; on our arrival at approximately 6.30pm, the whole prom was lit by fairy lights, giving it a magical impact. On entering, the front area is divided into a bar and restaurant, neither of which were for our use as coach passengers, but we could have used them if we paid separately. The lift to the upper floors was small, holding between 3 and 5 passengers, (depending on their weight I think!) Most of our tour were on the third floor, which was quite a trek by the stairs and heavy on the knees.
The hotel appears to have been built across several separate buildings that were of diverse heights, so floors could well have two or three steps along a corridor.
The rooms were reasonably sized, with all the usual hotel furniture. As far as I know, no-one in our group had a sea view, but we weren't in the hotel during the day so we didn't really notice this.
The food was good, 2 or 3 choices for each course; the food was tasty and well served by the friendly staff, who enjoyed a chat with customers. Some of our group felt there wasn't enough food on offer but we had no problems. We left feeling we would definitely return, possibly not by coach but independently, as coach tours can be restrictive. We would recommend both the hotel and the island for friendliness and interest.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are relatively few and far between, they therefore attract a premium. You coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carriebeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#14 of 17 in Douglas
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Property: The Empress Hotel
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an ala carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing