We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Was actually pleasantly suprised by this place, as Id walked past it a few times and colleagues had previsuly found it particularly nice.
The rooms are clean and reasonably presented and having the sea view also gave me the larger type of room and was fortunate enough to have the bay window.
The bathroom was great, clean and the shower was powerful and hot. Always a plus.
There is a gym which has a couple of rowers, a running machine, and a couple of weights machine, which was a shame really as a bigger and better equipped Gym for me would have made this an ideal choice to come back to.
Only negative I have, and I should have mentioend thsi at the time, was the bed (or rather beds). Two singles made into a double and unfortunately on one side the springs were shot, this really needs to be replaced. One other thing was the fact that someone had used the room as a smoking lounge and managed to put a number of cigarette burns in the net curtains.
Big plus for the hotel was the fact that it had quite a prominant visitor (a certain singer from a certain Mod group).
Staff were great by the way. Always welcoming and polite

Room Tip: If the bed was changed to a proper double and perhaps a decent iron and ironing board room 205 would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekentishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    229
    113
    44
    22
See reviews for
60
239
50
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bury
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had a weeks stay for this years T.T. Ideal location right on the prom , more or less in the middle . Very clean in the public areas with nice seating areas , as well as an al a carte area to the left hand side as you walk in . There is a lovely conservatory where you can sit and people watch , if you would like a bar snack or an evening meal the bar person will take your order and serve you , the food was very good and tasty , and you must try the home made patties (burgers) served in the breakfast room which is under the conservatory , they are excellent all home made and the onion rings are the best I've eaten , our room was at the back it was a little compact but well decorated in creams and browns there was a small wardrobe with shelves to one side and a small bathroom with a bath which I like, and over head power shower the bathroom was very clean with clean and white grout !!! , there was also lux shower gel available for use by the sink and in the shower and a hair dryer on the wall . small flat screen tv , and tea coffee etc left each day , our room was kept very cleaned , many thanks to the housekeeper for that , in fact I found this hotel was nicer than the sefton , not forgetting the wonderful breakfast a selection of fruits and fruit juices cereals and the hot breakfast everything you could think of even black pudding , it was very tasty all cooked well , staff were excellent always a smile tables cleaned quickly and nothing was to much trouble , everyone had a smile and a chat , and all staff are a credit to the empress , are we coming back again , you bet , already booked for the 2015 T.T only one niggle please get some softer pillows

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dengriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Empress Hotel and we were not disappointed, it was as good as the first time. The staff are all very friendly, the breakfast buffet is excellent and plentiful and even during very busy times ( it was TT week ) the amount and choice of food did not diminish. The food and service in the upstairs and downstairs restaurants was also excellent. The handmade burgers in the lower restaurant were particularly good. Not run of the mill burgers, these were special and well priced.
When we visited in 2011 the hotel had just been refurbished and the complete décor was in excellent condition. It has fallen off a little bit. The only bit that could do with a change are the carpets in the corridors leading to the bedrooms, they are looking a bit tired. They either need a good steam clean or replacement, but apart from that the place is clean and the rooms are very comfortable.
We certainly slept well even though we had a sea view room at the front. No noise and brilliant views of the sand racing, the red arrows and the firework display.
We will be going again !!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnthewhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good location on promenade. The reception area is pleasant with a bar right at the entrance. The atmosphere was busy and inviting.

We had a room with sea view which was very pleasant. We had an executive room but I'm at a loss as to how is could be described as executive. It was no bigger than the average double room (but reading other reviews a standard double room is on the small side). However, the bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. The bathroom was tiny and the soap and shower gel were in dispensers stuck to the wall which was a bit on the mean side. On our tea tray we had one packet of biscuits between two which again seemed rather miserly.

Breakfast was good with a good selection of hot and cold food. Staff were helpful, courteous and polite.

We had a drink in the bar in the evening which was very pleasant but not sure the pianist/singer enhanced our experience. It certainly curtailed our conversation and hastened our departure to bed.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra if you want a decent sized room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

TT four day stay with a group of friends.
Check in - very efficient and friendly
Room - standard room on 4th floor at coridoor end and near to lift. very small with just enough room, clean, tidy and very quiet at night so good sleep quality. Bed comfortable.
Flat screen TV but probably one of the first made and so dated with no teletext and just a selection of terrestrial digital channels. Bathroom good and shower worked really well.
View out to side of hotel so not great but did not book a sea view anyway.
Main bar, part of lobby, comfortable and nice ambience with a keyboard player in the evenoings. Initally some of us had a problem a with miserable barman, just one, but that soon stopped after it was pointed out to him. Prices - as an indication a pint of carling lager is £3.95. Generally all of the staff were polite and courteous.
Breakfast - fairly standard buffet let down a little by standard not hot enough food. If you like kippers though then go for those as they are excellent and cooked to order.
Did not dine in the hotel restaurant.
Lift broke down one afternoon/evening but was back up and running in not too long a time.
Would have no worries about staying there again and recommending it with the above reservations.
No on site parking and 24 hour limit to parking on road outside. Our bikes parked on wide pavement with no hassle.

Room Tip: Top floor, 453 and 454 are good quiet standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimboMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned from four night stay over TT period. Paid for standard double room, which was on the small side but okay. Hotel lobby, bar and restaurant area nice but corridors and rooms a little shabby, but clean. Breakfast served in restaurant on lower ground floor which was of good quality. Main restaurant in lobby area nice and bar area which overlooked the front. Food good and reasonably priced as were the drinks. Hotel had a small gym with sauna which we didnt use. Overall good, would stay again would have booked a sea view room which were much better but none available at time of booking.

Room Tip: Book sea view room as our standard double smallest I have ever stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjb2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here on business and the hotel is nice enough, the staff are nice, the bar is nice, the food is nice, the rooms are alright and the view is good.

The hotel is a little dated, but nice enough. The view over the sea is ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Property: The Empress Hotel
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an ala carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing