We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel value for the money”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Just return from our short but very enjoyable break to IOM - 24/25th July
We stayed at the Empress Hotel in Douglas. We arrived at the hotel about 9 in the morning not expecting our room to be available but to our surprise it was, considering the hotel was full. We had a suite on the third floor with views over Douglas Bay. Our accommodation consisted of an entrance hall, lounge and bedroom, all very well presented to a good standard. We ate at the hotels buffet restaurant which was very good value for money. Breakfast was excellent, with food being constantly replenished, so nothing was left out to long, this is a sign of a good hotel.
The Hotel was extremely busy as they had a wedding on, but the service by the staff did not diminish in any way.
The staff where excellent, from the front of house staff to bar, and dinning room staff, they where always cheerful and smiling and very helpful.
As for the negative comments by some people, I do wonder if we stayed at a different hotel. This is an excellent hotel for the money
We would definitely recommend the Empress Hotel and will certainly return

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junewLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2010

I cannot recommend this hotel to families with young children, this hotel does not welcome children, therefore would advise to stay clear if you have kids. The staff are extremely rude especially the Irish Female receptionist, the bar staff and the restaurant staff are also rude, but I suppose they can get away with it as the hotel manager 'Brian' has to be the rudest member of staff so i guess he sets the example for his staff to follow. I would like to say though the hotel room cleaners are friendly and helpful. Also rooms are extremely small and we had booked a room with a sea view and got a view of a run down housing street.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenhesmondhalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The Empress hotel is situated in a wonderful position overlooking the bay. We arrived 3 hours before check in so asked if we could leave our suitcases but were pleasantly surprised when the receptionist told us our room was ready so we could check in straight away.
We were impressed by our room, it was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was excellent. We paid extra for a seaview which I thought was well worthwhile and would certainly do the same again.
The buffet breakfast was very good and the "eat as much as you can" menu in the evening was equally good.
The bar area was spacious and airy and you could sit looking out over the bay which was very relaxing.
The staff were helpful and polite and I was very grateful that they printed boarding passes for myself and my husband as I'm a nervous flyer and like to have everything arranged before I go to the airport.
The only slight negative is that there is only one small lift to service over 400 rooms. Having said that, it wouldn't deter me from staying at the Empress again.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank ladystadust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Empress during TT 2010.

The room was so small that we could hardly get in wearing our leathers and rucksacks - it was a very tight squeeze!

A member of the bar staff was rude and unhelpful, and we did report this.

Breakfast was buffet style.

After visiting the TT several times I had always wanted to stay in this hotel, however the reality did not live up to my expectations and we will not be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlisles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This is a traditional seaside front promenade hotel in a good location with easy on-street parking. The hotel is old but all the areas we used have been modernised and were clean and pleasantly decorated.

Our room (362) was at the back of the hotel so had no view. It was large with all the facilities we expected, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was grand, the shower worked well. The only slight drawback was the ugly scaffolding, obviously there a long time attached to one window edges and supporting who knows what?

The friendly receptionist printed our return flight boarding cards with a smile.

We took the £15 ‘all you can eat’ dinner. This type of meal panders to the greedy rather than the needy but the quality was excellent. The buffet breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneHillwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The room was on the smaller side but the bathroom was a good size. Both were very clean, modern and well furnished. I found all the staff to be friendly and the service was good. Plenty to eat in the buffet style breakfast. Parking on the promenade was easy and free but you can only leave your car for 24hrs (then you need to move it to a different spot). The only downside is the room had constant low volume noise from the music played in reception (first floor room).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My husband and I and friends returned yesterday from a two night stay in the Empress. Firstly it it situated in a great location on the promenade in Douglas, a five minute ride from the boat terminal, and also benefiting from lovely seaviews. It is a large hotel, the reception /bar lounge area is spacious and attractive. There is also a conservatory overlooking the promenade and beach where you can either just sit to relax or enjoy drinks or bar meals, and lovely sea views. The buffet style breakfast offers a very good selection of well prepared food, to suit everyones tastes. For evening meals there is a choice of either bar meals, restaurant meals or a wonderful Asian/European buffet. All of the food we had was first class.
The hotel is well decorated and very clean. To be honest the room we stayed in at the back of the hotel was a little on the small side, however once again it was well furnished and clean. I would say that for a hotel the mattress was exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom was a reasonable size, clean, room to put toiletries and with a very powerful shower, also a bath.
We found the Empress offered a very good standard of accommodation and service and would most certainly stay there again if visitin the Isle of Man

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
652 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range: £66 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an a la carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing