We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average”
Review of The Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Empress Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed 8 July 2007

The Empress is a distinctly average hotel, with nothing to particularly praise or criticise. My overall impression was of a somewhat dated, but clean hotel. The hotel reception staff were friendly and accommodating, but the bar staff were abrupt and rude in the evening, refusing to serve coffee if they were too busy. I was also surprised to be given a single bed in a box room, as it seems the norm these days to be given a double bed even for a single booking. I would suggest asking for a double bed on booking if you are a single person. I would also suggest getting out of Douglas if possible. This is just like any other provincial town in the UK and the island has many more interesting places to see and visit. I particularly recommend Port Erin and the area around Peel castle. Both have great traditional villages nearby and offer the opportunity of observing seals at close hand and watching basking sharks from the shore or by boat.

  • Liked — Clean, helpful reception staff
  • Disliked — Small room, single bed, rude bar staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banjo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    240
    119
    45
    22
See reviews for
67
261
50
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

I was on business and stayed one night. As a woman on my own this hotel felt safe and comfortable. The room which had been booked for me was small, and over a flat roof. I asked the lovely receptionist (an eastern european girl with long auburn hair) if there was a nicer room, and I was given a large room on the second floor with no fuss.
I had a steak and salad in the restaurant, which was perfect. The waitress noticed I was on my own, with a magazine, and kindly placed me at a table with good lighting so I could read.
Breakfast was of the buffet variety, fine.
The swimming pool was quite small, but this is often the case in hotel pools, I didnt go in it but it looked clean and deep.
On the day I left, the receptionist called me a taxi, again with no fuss and much kindness.
I intend to go back to the Empress with my husband for a weekend, to go walking in the Isle of Man. Reccomended!

  • Liked — the kind staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank penky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2007

Pleasant hotel with all amenities. Not ideal for elderly visitors as disabled entrance is through brasserie in basement and there are series of small (but low) steps throughout the hotel. Main entrance lobby is up steep steps. Very nice lobby area with excellent view over the sea (due to height) and conservatory area.

Staff were very accommodating and pleasant. Breakfast was ample but mediocre. There is currrently a vast building site next door, so make sure you have a room on the west side of the building.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and great lobby
  • Disliked — View from back room
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MaGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2007

I've stayed here before, its probably the 2nd best hotel in Douglas (after the Sefton). I've had a variety of rooms, all have been ok. This time there was a problem.

This time I thought I was really lucky, to get a large room right on the front overlooking the sea. Wonderful! Or so I thought...

At night, the outside of the hotel is lit up with a brilliant blue light - probably thought up by a teenager somewhere as a cool idea. It can be seen glowing from the far side of the harbour.

Unfortunately, the glow is caused by very bright searchlight type units mounted outside the front of the hotel, pointing up at the hotel to light it up. It works so well that at 3am the first night I was reading in bed by the light leaking around, under and over the blackout curtains. I complained the next day and was told the lights should go off at midnight. there seemed to be little concern by management.

The next night was fine though - I opened the window and tugged on the wire attached to my own personal searchlight and managed to point it away from the hotel, out to sea. So I slept ok, and and lost ships at sea had a bright light to guide them!

The facilities of the hotel were good as always - there is a pool, the breakfast was great, buffet style, with tea served by helpful Polish staff. Reception were efficient, the hotel was about £60 per night for the room and 2 people. The hotel is ten minutes walk from the main shopping street, and 15 from the electric railway at the far end of town. One general problem is that it doesn't have any car parking - although it was possible, and fairly easy, to park on the road outside the hotel.

I will stay there again but ask for a room at the side away from the blue lights!

  • Liked — locaction and atmosphere
  • Disliked — external blue lights penetrating the room at night
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin-F-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2006

The room was tiny – one of those places where you have twelve inches around three sides of the bed, and no more. I tripped over my luggage several times.

The staff are all Polish and very smiley. I ate in the restaurant one night, and it was fine. Breakfast good as well.

The pool is so tiny you wonder why they bothered. When I went, there was a couple with a child in there – if I was to get in, someone else would have to get out. So I gave up.

Quiet hotel though.

  • Tips/Secrets — Whatever you do, DO NOT eat at the Taj Mahal round the corner
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DessertStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#14 of 17 in Douglas
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Property: The Empress Hotel
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an ala carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing