We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was superb, and we will go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“It was superb, and we will go back.”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We had a 2 day stay, the hotel was spotless, very friendly, the breakfast was superb, and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyLuckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    89
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
48
80
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed at the Arrandale during TT week this year for the third time. The accommodation is clean and very comfortable and our room had been recently refurbished to a good standard. Breakfast is excellent and the owners, Rose and Theo could not be more attentive. Always willing to accommodate an early arrival or late departure with the offer of leaving our cases and refreshments. It is always very busy during TT but they never fail to give good service. We will be back next year for sure.
Though we were here for the TT races, we also enjoy walking in the lovely countryside. Public transport is excellent and we always go for a 5 day travel pass.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were over for a week during the Isle of Man TT with the two of us, and I have to say that our stay there was very pleasant indeed!

The room we had was in a building which was just acquired by the owner but I have to say the rooms we've seen were very need and tidy! Through the week it was good to come 'home' and have a good nights sleep. The restaurant and bar, with every night the TT on the television, were also al we could have asked for.

It is also idealy located in the centre of Douglas only a few hundred metres of the promenade on one side and a few hundred to the grandstand on the other!

So it was realy al we could have asked for and that for a very reasonable price as well!
We surely will come back next year and definitly can recommend this hotel to anyone

.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remco83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK for now !
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Rooms very clean, although dated, some of furniture coming apart. Strip light in bathroom not working. Curtains did not fully cover windows, so awake early at sunrise. Breakfast (8-9am) was delicious, obviously freshly prepared, although portions modest. Heard owner say they had purchased another property nearby and were hurriedly getting this ready and it appeared that they had taken on a bit too much and struggled to cope with the two properties. Service was professional, if a bit cold.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeUKfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArrandaleIsleofMan, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
At this time, we were actually replacing all the furniture and soft furnishings in over 50% of our bedrooms so, yes, we were very busy! However, it did not affect the level of attention we gave our guests and we are glad they found the service professional. As it is a 5 minute job to replace a light bulb, its a pity they didn't mention the light wasn't working while they were here. We always find it odd that people wait until they get home to comment on it.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2011

It was nice to be ther the people were very help full and the food was dilicious.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at the Arrandale Hotel for 3 nights, and paid almost £100 per night for 2 adults and a 17 year old. This sort of money is linked to major hotel chains, and was for a triple room when we were informed it would be a quad for extra space. Our friends stayed in the same street for half the price that we paid (for same number of people). Very good of the owners to give us early breakfast, but not impressed in trying to charge £50 to extend room so that my son could shower after his cycle race which ended at 11am and leave the bags in the room so we did not have to leave them in the car until the ferry which was 7.45 at night. Fortunately our friends up the street offered us the facility to shower in their room, which wde took and declined the late offer by the Arrandale once we were sorted. We will not be returning to this hotel. The Isle of Man is an excellent location for a holiday and the weather was very kind. The ferry to the island is expensive when compared with say France.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smatthews29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArrandaleIsleofMan, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review, 21 May 2011
If ever we received an unfair review it is this one.
We always welcome comments as they enable us to improve our service to our guests. But leaving a factually incorrect review on this site does not help any reader in their choice of accommodation.

This guest initially booked a twin room at the agreed rate of £35 pppn, our regular rate. This at a time of high demand where similar properties were charging upto £95 pppn, as mentioned by other guests staying with us for the same cycling event.

Guest then called to change the booking to a triple room so we offered a larger room, (normally priced at £120 per night), and agreed a rate of £105 per night for the room (£35pppn), incl tax, breakfast and unlimited wifi.

Guest then called back questioning the rate so we agreed a rate of £32 pppn

As the family was competing in a cycling event with early morning starts we had our kitchen and breakfast room staff come in an hour early each morning, at considerable extra cost to us. We didnt charge extra for that.

We also cleared and offered our private shed for them to store their expensive racing bikes. We didnt charge extra for that.

We never quoted £50 for late checkout. If bookings allow us we offer a later check out at no extra charge. But, guest stated they were leaving at 8pm so we mentioned there may be a small charge to extend their stay in to the evening as obviously that room would then be unlettable for that night at a loss of income to us. NO AMOUNT was quoted as the guest abruptly ended the conversation and walked off.

Only at checkout the next day, guest said he had only needed the room until 2pm. We said we could still do this without problem or charge but guest bluntly told us he had made other arrangements. We invited him to leave his luggage but this offer was also refused.

Regarding the claim of his friends staying in a "...similar room for half the price..." : £48 for 3 people B&B????

Statistically, in business, 2 percent of your customers you will never be able to please, no matter how much you try. We put this guest in that 2 percent.

We take comfort from the fact that other guests staying with us for the same event were very happy and are planning to stay with us again next year. We look forward to seeing them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Stayed for 3 nights over Easter 2011. Very clean rooms, nice view over the Douglas sea front (request top of hotel). Really nice breakfast, they couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: Request room on top floor, sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Property: Arrandale House & Apartments
Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing