We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay, owners and staff all very nice and helpful, good breakfasts, nothing too much trouble.
Decor a bit tired but clean enough, beds comfy, bit noisy so needed the window shut at night.
Parking ok and not too far to front and town centre.
Douglas nice town and good base to tour a lovely island, also enjoyed Calf of Man, Peel, Laxey wheel, Port Erin etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed with work, wouldn't stay again!
Arrived at hotel to see sign on front desk advising to call a number to speak to someone, which I did to be told they would be with me in 10 minutes!!!
Room was clean, fresh White towels & bedding but bathroom was
tired &'could do with updating!
Can't fault cleanliness!

At breakfast no-one greeted you so just sat down to have my order taken after around 5 mins of not even a hi!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We had a 2 night stay to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, we could not have asked for more. On arrival we had a warm welcome and were put on the 1st floor when they saw I had an injured leg, the place was spotless and the owners and staff could not do enough for you. The breakfasts were fantastic. We would defiantly recommend and arelooking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We had a 2 day stay, the hotel was spotless, very friendly, the breakfast was superb, and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyLuckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed at the Arrandale during TT week this year for the third time. The accommodation is clean and very comfortable and our room had been recently refurbished to a good standard. Breakfast is excellent and the owners, Rose and Theo could not be more attentive. Always willing to accommodate an early arrival or late departure with the offer of leaving our cases and refreshments. It is always very busy during TT but they never fail to give good service. We will be back next year for sure.
Though we were here for the TT races, we also enjoy walking in the lovely countryside. Public transport is excellent and we always go for a 5 day travel pass.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were over for a week during the Isle of Man TT with the two of us, and I have to say that our stay there was very pleasant indeed!

The room we had was in a building which was just acquired by the owner but I have to say the rooms we've seen were very need and tidy! Through the week it was good to come 'home' and have a good nights sleep. The restaurant and bar, with every night the TT on the television, were also al we could have asked for.

It is also idealy located in the centre of Douglas only a few hundred metres of the promenade on one side and a few hundred to the grandstand on the other!

So it was realy al we could have asked for and that for a very reasonable price as well!
We surely will come back next year and definitly can recommend this hotel to anyone

.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remco83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Rooms very clean, although dated, some of furniture coming apart. Strip light in bathroom not working. Curtains did not fully cover windows, so awake early at sunrise. Breakfast (8-9am) was delicious, obviously freshly prepared, although portions modest. Heard owner say they had purchased another property nearby and were hurriedly getting this ready and it appeared that they had taken on a bit too much and struggled to cope with the two properties. Service was professional, if a bit cold.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeUKfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArrandaleIsleofMan, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2011

At this time, we were actually replacing all the furniture and soft furnishings in over 50% of our bedrooms so, yes, we were very busy! However, it did not affect the level of attention we gave our guests and we are glad they found the service professional. As it is a 5 minute job to replace a light bulb, its a pity they didn't mention the light wasn't working while they were here. We always find it odd that people wait until they get home to comment on it.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#8 of 15 in Douglas
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#14 of 15 in Douglas
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adelphi
Adelphi
#9 of 37 in Douglas
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £49 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing