We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay and will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasant stay and will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have recently returned from a 3 night stay at The Arrandale which was most enjoyable. On arrival there was a courteous reception with all the usual information one would expect.
The room was very clean with tea and coffee making facilities and the beds and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was quite small, but again very clean and with an excellent shower.
I can only agree with the many other reviews and rate the breakfast as superb.
The owners and staff were very friendly and took time to chat when they could.
I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnybostik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    87
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
47
79
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
wokingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Don't let the previous reviews put you off. The appartments are in a Victorian Terrace which is gradually being refurbished. We stayed for a week in July on the first floor, appartment 4, which has great views over the square and across to the sea front. The kitchen has been modernised, as has the bathroom. The place was spotlessly clean and easily accessible to transport and the city centre, but far enough out to be peaceful and relaxing. The owners are friendly and helpful.

Admittedly, the lounge and bedroom are still in a time warp. The carpeting, curtains, bed linen and most of the furniture are very much second-hand city. Although neither comfortable or aesthetically pleasing, this is very typical of Douglas and their 3 star rating system.

Room Tip: Apartment 4 has good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FOOTIEREADING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay, owners and staff all very nice and helpful, good breakfasts, nothing too much trouble.
Decor a bit tired but clean enough, beds comfy, bit noisy so needed the window shut at night.
Parking ok and not too far to front and town centre.
Douglas nice town and good base to tour a lovely island, also enjoyed Calf of Man, Peel, Laxey wheel, Port Erin etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed with work, wouldn't stay again!
Arrived at hotel to see sign on front desk advising to call a number to speak to someone, which I did to be told they would be with me in 10 minutes!!!
Room was clean, fresh White towels & bedding but bathroom was
tired &'could do with updating!
Can't fault cleanliness!

At breakfast no-one greeted you so just sat down to have my order taken after around 5 mins of not even a hi!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We had a 2 night stay to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, we could not have asked for more. On arrival we had a warm welcome and were put on the 1st floor when they saw I had an injured leg, the place was spotless and the owners and staff could not do enough for you. The breakfasts were fantastic. We would defiantly recommend and arelooking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We had a 2 day stay, the hotel was spotless, very friendly, the breakfast was superb, and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyLuckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed at the Arrandale during TT week this year for the third time. The accommodation is clean and very comfortable and our room had been recently refurbished to a good standard. Breakfast is excellent and the owners, Rose and Theo could not be more attentive. Always willing to accommodate an early arrival or late departure with the offer of leaving our cases and refreshments. It is always very busy during TT but they never fail to give good service. We will be back next year for sure.
Though we were here for the TT races, we also enjoy walking in the lovely countryside. Public transport is excellent and we always go for a 5 day travel pass.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Property: Arrandale House & Apartments
Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing