We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home from Angelena Boden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 36 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have stayed at Arrandale Apartments on number of occasions for extended periods of time and have really felt at home. Rose and Theo are lovely people who have become friends. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

My favourite apartment, which is fully stocked with everything you need, overlooks a leafy square and there is a distant view of the sea.

I always feel I have come home when I stay at Arrandale.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Arrandale House & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

We had a lovely three day stay in the Arrandale Hotel. We found the owner Rose to be so helpful and she gave us loads of advice on how to get the best out of our trip to the island. Our room was lovely, clean and warm. The decor is a little old fashioned but we loved that. The Arrandale is a lovely place to stay, probably more a guest house than a hotel but this only adds to its charm. Breakfast was great, a lovely, perfectly cooked full english breakfast. Should we return to the island we will definitely stay in the Arrandale.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

stayed herefor a week, very friendly owners. Ideal for town centre Douglas. Very helpful staff, always made to feel welcome. good quite location. Bar staff friendly,

Room Tip: Buy a travel pass, as these cover horse trams, snaefell railway, buses, manx electric and steam rail...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank remmingtonLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed here on 24th August for 3 nights. This was my 4th stay here and I love this hotel! The owners are very friendly and always on hand to help with any information you might need. Nothing is too much trouble and you always feel well looked after.

The location is good and all the rooms I have stayed in have had a nice view. Breakfast is fantastic. Always freshly cooked, plenty of toast, cereals, yogurt and juice.

Arrandale House is great value for money compared to other establishments in Douglas and will always be my first choice when visiting the island.

I am looking forward to a return trip in the new year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redball147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is not a hotel. It is a guest house or B&B. The facilities do not come close to a hotel.

I will prefix my criticisms by saying that the owners Rose and Theo are both charming and very helpful. The problems are the type and age of the building and the level of maintenance.

The radiators in the bedroom and (large) bathroom were both full of air and were bled after the first night. The second night night the heating system in the main hotel was not coming on.

The walls were all stud type and I could relate word for word a conversation between our neighbours (speaking normally) in their room about what time they would rise in the morning! There was also a gap under the room door large enough for a mouse to walk under without touching its back - 25mm at a guess. Finally the shower was black mouldy (see pics) and there was a sliver of soap on the sink saved by the last guests.

This could be a great guest house - the owners make you very welcome and seem to care about the business - more than can be said for many bigger concerns. The paper thin walls will be very hard to solve without a lot of money being spent.

In conclusion you can do better in Douglas for £45 a night

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArrandaleIsleofMan, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Firstly, you are quite right: we are NOT a hotel, we are registered with IOM Tourist Board as a 3 star Guesthouse. It can be confusing. Perhaps the Tourist Boards should revert to the old grading system of stars for hotels and diamonds for guesthouses as at least then people knew what they were booking. Incidentally, here on the island, it is mandatory to be registered and to undergo annual inspection: we have always passed with high percentages.

I would like to comment on the shower. It is unfortunate but over the course of a busy season, mould can accumulate in shower cubicles even with daily cleaning. Once that black is there, it cannot be removed even when sprayed and scrubbed with bleach or other mould removers. So, although the cubicle is clean, it is unsightly. The only solution then is to cut out the silicone and replace. We do this on a rolling maintenance programme over the quieter winter months as obviously the room has to be out of service for quite a few days. Your stay was at the end of another busy season and I can happily report that the room has now had its facelift - and a fresh box of soap!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed 3 nights at end of August 2011. Great price; nice rooms; great location - short walk to promenade & shopping areas. Owners were very friendly & helpful re: tourist attractions & restaurants. Owners were especially helpful by ordering us a taxi and having the cook prepare a full breakfast for me & my wife earlier then normal to accomodate our early flight.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DeenSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Very tidy place, within walking distance of the centre of town and parking for bikes right outside. The staff were cheerful and very helpful. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneandAndrew_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 15 in Douglas
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £46 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing