We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking in the Isle of Man”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Recently walked the coastal path around the Isle of Man and stayed 3 nights at Arrandale House in Douglas. The room was clean and comfortable, we were made very welcome by the owner and the lady who served us a very good breakfast each morning. I would certainly stay there again when I return to do more walking in the Isle of Man.
Brian Baxter

Room Tip: There are rooms with a view over a pleasant leafy square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

I've returned to the Arrandale three times, and plan to for years to come for my annual trips from New York to the TT and Manx Grand Prix. On an island with relatively few hotel options, The Arrandale stands as an ideal place to base your exploration of the IOM. Great location, quaint, able to walk to all of Douglas' attractions, but quiet and peaceful unlike the places on the Promenade. Rose and Theo provide comfortable, clean rooms and apartments, great Manx breakfasts and meals, with nice service. If you're looking for an ideal place to stay in Douglas, the Arrandale is it.

Room Tip: The self-cater apartments allow you to spread out, stock a refrigerator and are perfect for extended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The apartments are excellent. Rose and Theo who own the apartments and the hotel were very friendly and helpful. They always went the extra mile to make my stay as enjoyable as possible and nothing was too much trouble. They are the perfect hosts.
Excellent location and only a 5 min stroll to the main beach in Douglas. It is very safe on the Isle of Man and the locals are very friendly. Beautiful place and lots to explore!
Highly recommended:)

Room Tip: Speak to Rose about what you need and she will sort it out for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have stayed at Arrandale Apartments on number of occasions for extended periods of time and have really felt at home. Rose and Theo are lovely people who have become friends. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

My favourite apartment, which is fully stocked with everything you need, overlooks a leafy square and there is a distant view of the sea.

I always feel I have come home when I stay at Arrandale.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We had a lovely three day stay in the Arrandale Hotel. We found the owner Rose to be so helpful and she gave us loads of advice on how to get the best out of our trip to the island. Our room was lovely, clean and warm. The decor is a little old fashioned but we loved that. The Arrandale is a lovely place to stay, probably more a guest house than a hotel but this only adds to its charm. Breakfast was great, a lovely, perfectly cooked full english breakfast. Should we return to the island we will definitely stay in the Arrandale.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

stayed herefor a week, very friendly owners. Ideal for town centre Douglas. Very helpful staff, always made to feel welcome. good quite location. Bar staff friendly,

Room Tip: Buy a travel pass, as these cover horse trams, snaefell railway, buses, manx electric and steam rail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank remmingtonLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed here on 24th August for 3 nights. This was my 4th stay here and I love this hotel! The owners are very friendly and always on hand to help with any information you might need. Nothing is too much trouble and you always feel well looked after.

The location is good and all the rooms I have stayed in have had a nice view. Breakfast is fantastic. Always freshly cooked, plenty of toast, cereals, yogurt and juice.

Arrandale House is great value for money compared to other establishments in Douglas and will always be my first choice when visiting the island.

I am looking forward to a return trip in the new year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redball147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#8 of 15 in Douglas
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#13 of 15 in Douglas
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £47 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing