We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, clean and good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 32 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Cosy, clean and good service.”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed for week, after booking off internet fortnight prior. Located very central in Douglas, but set back from promenade. Only 8 minutes walk up, but incline may be a problem for people with mobility problems. Hotel room was not huge , but adequate. It was cosy with a reasonable size bathroom. Our room overlooked park , but in being on top third floor meant arduous climbing of stairs 2/3 times a day. Considered hotel to be kept generally well cleaned throughout. Service at breakfast each day was very good, and all food well prepared and plentiful. Quite a reasonable choice for accommodation size. All rooms and food are more expensive on the IOM, and the rates for the Arrandale Hotel compared well with others similarly situated off the seafront. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, certainly we enjoyed our stay and the hotel was comfortable but I may be more inclined to book actually on the seafront next visit, if the tariffs failed to reflect the slope up from promenade.

Room Tip: A room on the top third floor will have good views and ensure your losing a few pounds in weight by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    90
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
51
80
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Just visited the IOM and 21 of us stayed at the Arrandale. Accommodation was clean and comfortable.
The staff were friendly, helpful and I must say enhanced the whole experience for me and my companions.
They stayed up late to see to our requirements and also on the last day of our trip were happy to do an early breakfast.
When I go back there, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

It had been all of 55 yrs. since my last visit to the IOM and it was heart-warming to find that
the basic values of decency, friendliness and helpfulness were still intact. I found the Arrandale
through the 'Last Minute booking' system and it was indeed a happy find. Based on experience
I have often found that travelling solo, elderly single women can experience discrimination, i.e.
by choice of room or poor dining-room service. Not so in the Arrandale. I had a very comfortable
room on the 3rd floor and the dining-room staff were excellent. The breakfast, too, was quite
substantial - not something I would take the trouble to cook at home..

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Our stay at The Ashton was our first experience with Manx hospitality and we really, really enjoyed it. The rooms are tidy, clean and the staff looks after it every day. We had a lot of requests and either the owner or the staff was helpfull and very friendly at any time and at any silly question we had. Hutchinson Square is a very nice, friendly and silent address in the hills above Douglas Promenades only 10-15 minutes of walking slowly to city centre. The only reason why I cannot give the 5 points is the fact that - due to the historically narrow staircases - the rooms has to climbed. Therefore it's not really made for people with leg problems. On the other hand you can get a good breakfast at reasonable prices at the Arrandale only a few steps down the street... and even the coffee is better there than in some other B&Bs around - as we were told by friends - and we can only confirm. Go there, try yourself!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The self-catering apartment we stayed in was clean, welcoming, and very comfortable. Would be excellent for a small family and was a lovely home-from-home for us. The staff we met were extremely pleasant and helpful, service was great and we would definitely recommend the Arrandale. It is a bit of a walk to the main prom, and is all uphill coming home which might be difficult for elderly guests, but there are local taxis which help. I would definitely stay here again!
Thank you to Rose and all the other staff for a gracious welcome, and for all your help in the lead up to our holiday.

Room Tip: the apartment where we stayed had a twin room and a sofa bed in the living room which might not suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moodyblue393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Like others we booked based on reviews. It's not too bad - but the rooms are shabby and the breakfast only average. However I don't like providing a negative review, so on the plus side the shower in the room was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Depends on your budget - but next time I'll spend a wee bit more and go elsewhere.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our week at Arrandale was great. Owners Theo and Rose were most welcoming. Food was excellent and abundant. Room was comfortable and clean with tea and coffee making facilities. En-suite with large shower and lovely soft towels.View from windows right over the bay to the harbour and beyond. Shops and attractions fairly easily accessable from hotel, though hilly, but this is the case with most hotels unless on the front.
Would recommend Arrandale as friendly and welcoming to anyone looking to visiting IOM.
Thank you Theo, Rose and Laura the friendly waitress.

Room Tip: Ask when biooking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mona
Glen Mona
#12 of 32 in Douglas
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Property: Arrandale House & Apartments
Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing