We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 34 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great people”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Just come back from a short break on the isle of man. Picked this place on the back of the other reviews and they weren't wrong. Yes, it is a guesthouse and not a hotel but that is what it is listed as and is also reflected in the price. The rooms are comfortable and cleaners do a great job. Food is great, good portions and good value (bear in mind island is generally more pricey for eating out than the mainland). Breakfast is exceptionally good - everything hot, fresh and eggs cooked to order. The staff deserve a special mention as they go out of their way to serve you and nothing seems too much trouble. Thanks Rose, Angie and Theo for a great break.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, unlike a lot of places, they don't charge extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    92
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
51
81
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Shared a twin room with a friend for Manx Grand Prix Festival week - my first visit to the island. Hotel is well placed for all amenities and located in a pleasant square overlooking public gardens. Need to be aware though that it's an uphill walk from the esplanade, which could test your fitness. Room comfortable, well appointed and clean. Received a very pleasant welcome and enjoyed excellent service all through the week. Eating here is excellent - good choice of proper, substantial food for breakfast and evening meal, served hot and swiftly. Well stocked bar, including local ales. The hotel has a real family-run feel and the proprietor and staff are very friendly and helpful. If I'm lucky enough to come back to this beautiful island I would certainly stay at the Arrandale again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbone508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nefyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed in the Arrandale for a week in August. We had a warm welcome and an excellent room with a great view over Douglas bay - the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, especially the smoked Manx kippers. We also enjoyed a drink at the bar with a friendly assortment of bikers! All in all, excellent value for money, and no hesitation in recommending the Arrandale!

Room Tip: Top floor for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraint w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Organised a surprise trip to the IOM for our ruby wedding as we came here forty years ago for our honeymoon. Found the Arrandale via Trip Advisor and not disappointed. Lovely clean room with a smashing view and a very comfy bed. We slept well. Lovely, friendly staff and good food. A bit of a stiff walk uphill from the prom but still a good location. We will certainly be visiting the Arrandale again.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room at the front for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ploddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed in the Arrandale for Mannifest festival.clean and excellent location near to all amenities. Lovely friendly helpful staff, one the best hotel breakfasts ever and a nice laid back Manx atmosphere.
Will be back year. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed here with a group of motorcyclists for a long weekend at the end of July.

Staff were welcoming and very helpfull

Rooms clean, food of a very good standard and plentifull.

The staff even came in early on the last day to do early breakfast so we did not miss our ferry.

Only downside was the electric shower which was problematic but with patience worked after a fashion.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The Arrandale consists of a B & B - and then flats about 15 doors up on the same square. I decided to stay at one of the flats - number 1 located on the ground floor. Previous research before booking this apartment showed that flats were expensive in Douglas - with the Arrandale being one of the cheapest available - so the rating bears this price well in mind.

As stated Hutchinson Square is a little out of the town centre up a small hill - it took me about 20 mins to walk into the centre - with another 5 mins to Tescos and the steam railway. It was also about 25 mins from the electric railway which lies in the opposite direction.

The accommodation is slightly basic - but all facilities are there (kettle, microwave, cutlery, crockery, toaster, TV, CD &DVD players, cooker etc). In addition all linen and towels were supplied, and, as a nice extra touch, some toiletries to get you going. There was also free wifi- and unusually there was a very strong signal!

The front of the flat looks over the square - unfortunately the bedroom at the back looks out over an iron stair case and concrete walls Very little noise came through from neighbouring flats.

Overall for the price I'd strongly recommend - however I couldn't award this accommodation five starts as there were areas of criticism:

a) The cleaning had not been 100% effective before I had arrived.
b) There were no small windows to open - only large ones - and given the flat was ground level anyone could have therefore stepped into the flat
c) Towel in bathroom was somewhat frayed - and two light bulbs had already blown when I'd arrived - showing perhaps a lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcw12kcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mereside
Mereside
#13 of 34 in Douglas
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mona
Glen Mona
#12 of 34 in Douglas
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Property: Arrandale House & Apartments
Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing