We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Theo and his wife really made me really feel at home. They are genuine people, who deliver outstanding customer care. I didn't want for anything during my stay; they even cooked me dinner after I'd come back from work! If you want a family run B&B, then the Arrandale has to be your first choice. Thank you for a memorable stay and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — That I had to leave!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    89
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
48
80
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Perfect location! At the center of Douglas but a block up the hill from the noisy promenade, on sunny and quiet Hutchinson Square. The hotel is located on a sunny south corner with many windows and great views, some out to sea. The proprietors couldn't be frendlier and seem genuinely eager to please. The room was spacious, attractive, ultra clean, filled with light...and free wi-fi! Beautiful sunny lounge with an included, huge, delicious breakfast. I couldn't expect more in a small hotel in this price range.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank joefar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2008

I would like to say that i really enjoyef my stay at the Arrandale hotel, the owners were very professional and accommadating. The location is perfect, within 5 mins walk from the town centre and sea terminal. Another key popint i feel i should raise is the free WIFI, i'm so impressed that the owners have had the foresight to install this. I can on business and found it very useful, a key selling point as far as i'm concerned when looking for accommadation on the Isle for a budget. I will now be using this hotel everytime I visit the Isle.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank boundsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2007

We recently stayed at the Arrandale for the weekend,very central and really great view over the harbour.Rose and Theo made our stay very enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble.The breakfasts were excellent and plenty of everything ,nicely cooked. When we returned later in the day it was great to relax with a nice drink. Overall we highly recommend the Arrandale and the hosts made our stay as enjoyabe as the island its self.
Cant wait to return and 100% will definately book here again

From 2 happy people from Cornwall

  • Liked — location and friendliness of hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

We stayed at the Arrandale Hotel for a weekend whilst completing the final sections of the long distance footpath around the coast of the Isle of Man - the Way of the Gull.
The Hotel was very convenient for the ferry terminal, Douglas town centre and bus / train / tram services were a few minutes walk away. It is located away from the main road and was nice and quiet.
We had a room on the third floor which was a bit of a hike, but the view was well worth it - a spectacular view overlooking Douglas Bay.
The rooms were clean and tidy, the staff were pleasant and the breakfasts were excellent.
Overall, a very nice place to stay and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DavNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We have just spent a very enjoyable 4 days at the Arrandale Hotel on the Isle of Man.
The family run hotel had a very friendly atmosphere, the rooms were lovely and clean and well equipped and in our opinion very good value for money.
The breakfast room provides a perfect start to the day, with a full choice of breakfasts on offer.
The hotel is very well situated within easy walking distance of the promenade, and is located in a quiet residential area with a lovely square just across the road where you can sit and relax in the beautiful gardens.
We would love to return to the Isle of Man again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Arrandale Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IsleofWightBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2007

My parents first discovered the Arrandale Hotel & Flats in the 80s and various family members have been enjoying staying in this delightful hotel/ flats since that time.

Rose and her husband are friendly and efficient and their establishment is GREAT! The rooms are not only clean but the owners work at refurbishing them continually. The one my sister and I stayed in very comfortably 5 years ago had been completely redone and looked like something out of a magazine when we visited a cousin who was staying there this summer.

This year we stayed in a 2 bedroom flat and at one time there were 6 of us staying there comfortably. (The hotel is down on the corner and the flats are higher up in the same block.)

Mind you, this is not a 5 star hotel so if you are wanting a white terry cloth robe hung on the door, don't come here. Leave this hotel for those of us who appreciate a place that is comfortable, and down-to-earth friendly. Plus the FULL breakfast is second to none!

Highly recommended to anyone who wants to enjoy a peaceful stay away from the noise which can accompany stays on the promenade.

A bit of a climb up the hill from the promenade but buses run regularly.
sincerely,
Ann Cannell Beaulieu

  • Liked — Clean and homey feeling.
  • Disliked — Having to leave too soon!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank annbaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Property: Arrandale House & Apartments
Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing