We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arrandale House & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Don't know where to start but here goes, left at reception for 20mins phoning a number linked to other apartments block presumably that just rang out, Then eventually got into room and the place was filthy, bed unmade, wet towels on the floor, rubbish everywhere and I won't even begin to do scribe the toilet. This BTW was 1600hrs not first thing in the morning. When I went to moan to my colleague he topped it by saying some guy was lying in his bed with his bum pointing to the moon. Tried to get another hotel but some sort of rally event on so had to grin and bear it. Breakfast was ok, the owner was nice enough but it's up a great big hill from the sea and the main part of town so all in all the B&B part of the operation should be avoided at all costs. Worse place I have stayed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank christolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
We were disconcerted to read this review and are currently trying to trace the guest so we can investigate the circumstances relating to the comments made. If this reviewer wishes to contact us direct, we would be delighted to hear from him/her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    86
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
47
79
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at the Arrandale hotel for 3 nights.

Staff are considerate and friendly at all times; not only during my stay but after I left the hotel.
I left my camera at the hotel room. Then, staff send email and gave me a phone call to let me know it at once.
Unfortunately, when I noticed the email, I had already left Douglas for Liverpool.
Therefore, I asked her to send it back after I came back home.
She gladly consented to my request and, thanks to her, my camera arrived safely.

The room was clean and I could have strong wifi access.
Moreover, the restaurant inside the hotel (But not Arrandale) provided me with excellent dinner.

The hotel is located within 10 minutes walk from the city centre. It means it is conveniently placed.
On the way to the city centre, I could enjoy lovely landscape of Douglas.

Overall, I could have a wonderful experience in this hotel and superb service of staff made it special more.
I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a lovely stay. The room was clean and a nice size. The breakfast choice was good. The location is a little away from the seafront, but it is only a few minutes walk down the hill to get there. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and happy to help book a taxi or provide details on how to get to a tourist attraction. A great base to explore the Isle of Man. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
workington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in the Arrandale for a week while we were holidaying in the IoM. We chose it mainly because of the reviews and they weren't wrong. Good points: very clean, breakfasts were excellent with good quality food well cooked, staff very friendly and helpful, close enough to sea front to walk (but all uphill coming back), evening meal available if required without booking, great power shower, friendly bar and place to sit when you're not in room. The poached eggs at breakfast are perfect and I couldn't resist having them most mornings. Give the porridge a go at least once as it was also very good. Rose and Theo are lovely and friendly - we were given a guide book on check in which was indispensable, and The was a mine of information about the island.

Room Tip: Nothing to do with rooms but some good advice - if you don't have a car on the island go for a 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbriangrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We chose this place due to its reviews and were not disappointed, the room was a reasonable size and the power shower was fantastic.

The breakfast choice was very good and nothing was to much for the serving staff.

It is up a hill so a vehicle would be ideal for you to get here but it is not a great hardship.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Douglas as it is close to a large Shoprite store and some excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: Lower floors easier to access but sea views from the second floor if on the right hand side of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We travelled to the island for my husbands birthday, he has always wanted to visit, I was none to keen but I really had a surprise. The Island is lovely lots to do and see. The people are so friendly. The staff and the owners were lovely. We had a meal in the hotel the first night and then sat outside with a bottle of house wine. The meal was good , lasagne chips and salad. The rooms were clean and tidy with tea and coffeee making facilities, even a small fridge.
Value for money , I would recommend this hotel.The owner let us keep our rooms on until 16.00pm at no extra charge

Room Tip: We had a bay window room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williaa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArrandaleIsleofMan, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your nice review. It is always good to receive feedback from our guests. It was our pleasure having you with us and we hope to see you again sometime in the not too distant future. Feel free to contact us direct for the best possible rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The room was clean with a terrific view. The hotel staff were very friendly and obliging. The only thing that would make it better is a lift. Those stairs are very steep - but we managed and it was worth it for the view from the top floor window. Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArrandaleIsleofMan, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you with us and I enjoyed our chat. I hope you have been able to sort out your overcharged bags with the airline. Just to keep in mind for next time; we are able to help you with your travel arrangements (sea or air) when you book direct with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Arrandale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonian
The Devonian
#2 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caledonia Hotel
Caledonia Hotel
#13 of 27 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Property: Arrandale House & Apartments
Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing