We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation at reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I won't write too much as everything you need to know has been said in previous reviews.

I will however agree with some of the points raised. Those with mobility problems requiring a lift should look elsewhere. Also decent electric shower and the room was clean and at the standard expected in this price range.

Wifi on every floor but worth mentioning that they appear to have invested in fibreoptic so the speeds are very good and certainly amongst the fastest I have found in any accommodation I have stayed in, meaning you can swiftly check out all the attractions on your tablet!

The only real downside was the level of soundproofing between rooms could have been improved as loud snoring and people falling asleep with the tv on next door can affect some lighter sleepers.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank jayteedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Party booking for a small cycle group of 8. We were given rooms in the partner apartments The Ashton on the same street which suited our needs. We had good access to the TT Route, coastal roads and also downtown Douglas for the social aspect of the weekend.
Breakfast was hearty with abundance of tea and toast etc.The waitress was very attentive.
The location is far enough from the main road to avoid any noise,
We were given use of a fenced yard for overnight storage of our bikes but would suggest that the owners are contacted direct to discuss individual requirements.
Overall a value for money break.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMCMStHelensUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Extremely helpful and serviceminded owners.
Great hospitality AND breakfasts, especially the "eggs surprise". Loved the views over Douglas Bay and the park from our room.

We`ll be back!!! Bestest ever :0)

Regards from the Norwegian female vikings, Toril og Elin

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toril A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We took my partner's parents here for their 57th wedding anniversary present. The house is very clean and quaint. Reminds me of a B&B from the 50s and 60s era. All the places around here are very much in this ilk. The rooms are quite small but very cosy and have everything you need including tea / coffee etc. the third floor could be challenging for some but we had a brilliant view over the seafront. The parents were on the first floor and also had a very comfortable room. (there are no lifts so really need to be mobile.)

The owner Rose was extremely helpful and obliging with breakfast requests and evening drink requests, providing very useful info regarding the best places to have dinner. The Terminus Hotel and the Harbour Lights Restaurant were both excellent for food.

Would definitely recommend this accommodation as it was a warm welcoming place and only a couple of streets away from the sea front.

Room Tip: the third floor gives you the best views over the seafront and we had a slightly larger room than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife & I plus two friends have just returned from a very enjoyable week in Douglas I.O.M. Arrandale House is located on Hutchinson Square approx 10 mins walk down to the promenade but 10-15 mins upon return due to it being up a steep incline this was hard work for people with walking difficulties. The rooms were of a reasonable size, clean, comfortable beds, small shower rooms with plenty of hot water, generally the furniture was a little tired/in need of upgrading our friends room lacked adequate storage space.

Rose & Theo are excellent owners, very friendly and helpful nothing seemed to much trouble Theo was a mine of information and advised us of places to visit etc.

The breakfast was excellent it consisted of any cereal, fruit, yogurt, fruit juice, toast etc. followed by a choice of a full cooked breakfast with any combination of eggs bacon sausage etc with even a veggie choice it was plentiful and well cooked also any amount of tea or coffee. There was evening food available but I would not recommend eating in, there was little choice and it was of a poor quality, the same special was on all the time during our stay we only ate in once. We would have eaten in more often had the food been varied and better quality.

I would recommend this hotel for its friendliness location (if you are fit) and good breakfasts .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicbarLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were lucky to be present for the race week at the TT 2014. We have found an Arrandale apartment, it was the No 2, so glad to find an apartment in Douglas, just half way between the Paddock and the promenade and this is where most of the activities are. A supermarket is nearby, easy to reach. Nice and calm near a park, no big traffic in front of the house, everything went well as planned. The apartment is exactly as described by Rose. Was easy to communicate with Rose, always looking for any advice, requirements we may have.
If we have another opportunity to come for a TT, we will not hesitate to stay at the same address.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaaaaazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Me and my brother were very happy with accomodation, with the breakfast and with the hospitality of Margareth.
Hope to get there very soon again.
If I ever travel to the Isle of Man again, will be this my favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with iknow-uk
Thank Alessandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#8 of 15 in Douglas
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#14 of 15 in Douglas
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adelphi
Adelphi
#9 of 37 in Douglas
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £50 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing