We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On arrival we entered what we thought was a rather dark,narrow and uninviting reception area,the lady that greeted us was friendly enough.It would have been useful to have warned us prior to or at the time of booking that our room was on the third floor with no lift.Had either my wife or I been elderly or infirm we would not have been able to get to our room due to the 3 long and steep flights of stairs. The room itself was ok and clean.The shower does need running for a good while before any hot water comes through and the décor in the bathroom aswell as the whole Guest house,could do with bringing into the 21st century,as I said,it's clean but very dated. The breakfast was nice and fresh with good quality products but in my opinion(I eat well)the breakfast itself was quite small.Yes,you can fill up on cereals if that's what you like,but I don't. The bulbs in this place are all the energy saving type and sadly don't improve how dull the place is,a few bright lights would make an heck of a difference,especially in our shower that had no window.
My advice to anybody booking here would be to ask what floor your room is on,ours was 301,3rd floor,before booking,because if your elderly,disabled or infirm you'll struggle like heck.
In summary,very basic,clean Bed and Breakfast,but would not stop here until it was updated and improved.
Wi-Fi in all rooms and of good quality.

Room Tip: Check what floor before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanedwards842016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
We appreciate your comments. We do state quite clearly on our website that we do not have a lift. We do have ground and lower floor accommodation available and are always willing to give guests assistance with luggage if required.

If guests have mobility issues, we ask that they request lower floors when booking, or preferably, speak to us direct so we can best meet their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    88
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
48
79
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed six nights and found this a comfortable and clean place. Breakfast was good and efficiently served and evening meals were available. Nice sea view from our room. We were able to leave our case after checking out until we needed to travel to the airport for our evening flight. Very convenient and quiet location. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view on the top floor. Walls can be a bit thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliot_stuffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

With a teenager to house in a separate bedroom, an apartment was always going to be necessary for our family holiday. We booked the two bed apartment no 3 at Arrandale and found it to be in a great location for Douglas town centre but the apartment itself was a lot more basic than we expected. I find myself writing this too often in reviews, but the space has huge potential if a small amount of money and thought were spent on it. A couple of examples: the bathroom was a really good size but no thought had been given to where guests would put their stuff. With a small amount of additional stylish furniture this could have been quickly and easily achieved. The broken and cracking shower head was too long for the size of the shower door, meaning that every shower was an attempt to get clean while trying not to flood the bathroom. Again, with a small amount of money and thought about how the space would be used, the owners could have made showering a pleasurable experience rather than an anxious one.

On a positive note, the apartment was clean and well equipped, even if the furniture and kitchen equipment was mismatched. The sofa was unusable as the cushions were so flat and worn.

I'm not sure I'd recommend this to family and friends but if you wanted a clean convenient and competitively priced place to stay for your visit, then this might be for you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Manxgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose F, Owner at Arrandale House & Apartments, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, we always welcome constructive criticism and sometimes a fresh eye can see things that we, as owners and not 'users' of the apartment can miss.

We have had a new sofabed on order for this apartment since February. It is being custom made by local upholsterers as standard sofas will not fit down the corridor so has to be one that can be built up in the lounge. Unfortunately, the "Traa-dy-Liooar" (manx equivalent of the spanish manana) means that we still dont have it! However, I have been assured it will be delivered before the end of the month. Fingers crossed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Cracking little place, Free quality wifi, comfortable beds, good breakfast selection. Very reasonable prices.

Nice and secure area for our bicycles, they couldn't do more for us. Would return anytime.

Sorry about the snoring ...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I won't write too much as everything you need to know has been said in previous reviews.

I will however agree with some of the points raised. Those with mobility problems requiring a lift should look elsewhere. Also decent electric shower and the room was clean and at the standard expected in this price range.

Wifi on every floor but worth mentioning that they appear to have invested in fibreoptic so the speeds are very good and certainly amongst the fastest I have found in any accommodation I have stayed in, meaning you can swiftly check out all the attractions on your tablet!

The only real downside was the level of soundproofing between rooms could have been improved as loud snoring and people falling asleep with the tv on next door can affect some lighter sleepers.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jayteedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Party booking for a small cycle group of 8. We were given rooms in the partner apartments The Ashton on the same street which suited our needs. We had good access to the TT Route, coastal roads and also downtown Douglas for the social aspect of the weekend.
Breakfast was hearty with abundance of tea and toast etc.The waitress was very attentive.
The location is far enough from the main road to avoid any noise,
We were given use of a fenced yard for overnight storage of our bikes but would suggest that the owners are contacted direct to discuss individual requirements.
Overall a value for money break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCMStHelensUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Extremely helpful and serviceminded owners.
Great hospitality AND breakfasts, especially the "eggs surprise". Loved the views over Douglas Bay and the park from our room.

We`ll be back!!! Bestest ever :0)

Regards from the Norwegian female vikings, Toril og Elin

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toril A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#9 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Property: Arrandale House & Apartments
Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing