We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 36 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Wonderful hopitality in friendly family atmosphere on our first visit to Isle of Man.
Bob & Maureen Bensemann, New Zealand

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank NzTui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2008

Come on Tripadvisors;my faith in you all has reached an all time low for it was upon your collective recommendation and your enthusiastic reviews that I booked my wife and myself into the Arrandale Hotel. We had never been to the Isle of Man and looked to you for help.And dear Tripadvisors,you let us down badly. The Arrandale is truly awfull! It is not a hotel as I understand the term; it is a guest house and a fairly grubby one at that. The room was jaded and faded and had an office style suspended ceiling to boot. The residents bar can best be descibed as a hatch between the breakfast room and the kitchen and is limited to a few cans in the fridge.

You've guessed it;we hated the Arrandale and lied about our unexpected need to return to Glasgow to escape to the (far better) Empress Hotel for our second night.

Book here at your peril and if you do then make sure you have breakfast on a saturday morning before 9am or the owner will tell you off and make you forget that it is in fact you who are paying the damn bill! You have been warned.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Good hotel located just a few minutes walk from the promenade. The owners were helpful and friendly, providing a good breakfast with plenty of choices to suit all.
Free parking available in the streets but check this with the owners as there is a disc policy being used (owner provided us with a disc free of charge).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Laughingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Small cramped room, I kept banging my self on the (empty) fridge next to the bed. If you opened the wardrobe you blocked the door to the toilet.

The bed was small, lumpy and had only two pillows like postage stamps.

The bathroom was tiny and the shower was held in place by a piece of coloured wool, you had to hold it to get washed. The sink was tiny and low down so if you tried to wash your face you hit your head on the glass shelf above it. After laughing at my attempts my partner decided it was safer not to try.

The curtains on the large bay window did not close, which meant that we were undressing in full view of any passerby.

This was a 'deluxe' sea view room! It looked like it had been decorated by a colour blind drunk monkey.

Yes the couple are nice and work hard, and the breakfast was good so we did not complain, but said we had to leave early.

What a relief, we checked into the Sefton, room 112, a beautiful bay view suite.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank susanharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We are a mature biking couple and it was our first time visiting the Island and choose the hotel from the website not knowing anything about it, just going on the reviews posted, what a find it turned out to be. The hotel is centrally placed, very quiet and peaceful and and is certainly value for money, the breakfast being first class with plenty of choice, and the bar meals the same. The rooms were clean and tidy and the staff and owners were very helpful and friendly. The whole island is very biker friendly and there is plenty of safe parking on the road right outside the hotel. l have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone who is looking for good food and accommodation at a reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedtripleSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

As a family of 5 we took a double room in the hotel and a 1 bedroomed apartment.
I stayed in the apartment with 2 children,it was fantastic a really good size plenty of storage room with great facilities and most of all very clean.
My parents stayed in the hotel which they thoroughly enjoyed, the service by the owners and staff was brilliant nothing was too much. The food was excellent along with the room and all facilities.
We would recommend the hotel and apartments to everyone.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank WinnieLancasire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Stayed at the Arrandale for the Manx GP. Food was excellent, staff extemelly friendly and helpful. Room cleaning service was first class. The owner's Theo and Rose made our stay very enjoyable. Very close to Douglas Bay, 5 mins to beach. Would highly recommend this Hotel for a friendly and relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hondashropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 16 in Douglas
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 16 in Douglas
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin
Ellan Vannin
#2 of 16 in Douglas
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 16 in Douglas
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 16 in Douglas
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £46 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing