We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, great location and good value for money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arrandale House & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrandale House & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, friendly, great location and good value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed as a group of 9 friends for the Easter Atlhetics festival and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Having stayed in several IOM hotels in previous years, this was by far the best! Superb value - lovely spacious rooms with modern clean bathrooms. Great view from room too over Hutchinsons Square and the bay! 10 mins walk into Douglas main street and ferry terminal and 5mins walk to pitches and park by the TT start. Large choice for breakfast (including Manx kippers) in spacious dining room - with free internet! The staff were freindly and very accomodating to our needs - thanks for making our stay a great one!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embo_run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    86
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
47
79
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

Wonderful hopitality in friendly family atmosphere on our first visit to Isle of Man.
Bob & Maureen Bensemann, New Zealand

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank NzTui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven:Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

Come on Tripadvisors;my faith in you all has reached an all time low for it was upon your collective recommendation and your enthusiastic reviews that I booked my wife and myself into the Arrandale Hotel. We had never been to the Isle of Man and looked to you for help.And dear Tripadvisors,you let us down badly. The Arrandale is truly awfull! It is not a hotel as I understand the term; it is a guest house and a fairly grubby one at that. The room was jaded and faded and had an office style suspended ceiling to boot. The residents bar can best be descibed as a hatch between the breakfast room and the kitchen and is limited to a few cans in the fridge.

You've guessed it;we hated the Arrandale and lied about our unexpected need to return to Glasgow to escape to the (far better) Empress Hotel for our second night.

Book here at your peril and if you do then make sure you have breakfast on a saturday morning before 9am or the owner will tell you off and make you forget that it is in fact you who are paying the damn bill! You have been warned.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

Good hotel located just a few minutes walk from the promenade. The owners were helpful and friendly, providing a good breakfast with plenty of choices to suit all.
Free parking available in the streets but check this with the owners as there is a disc policy being used (owner provided us with a disc free of charge).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small T.V.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Laughingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

Small cramped room, I kept banging my self on the (empty) fridge next to the bed. If you opened the wardrobe you blocked the door to the toilet.

The bed was small, lumpy and had only two pillows like postage stamps.

The bathroom was tiny and the shower was held in place by a piece of coloured wool, you had to hold it to get washed. The sink was tiny and low down so if you tried to wash your face you hit your head on the glass shelf above it. After laughing at my attempts my partner decided it was safer not to try.

The curtains on the large bay window did not close, which meant that we were undressing in full view of any passerby.

This was a 'deluxe' sea view room! It looked like it had been decorated by a colour blind drunk monkey.

Yes the couple are nice and work hard, and the breakfast was good so we did not complain, but said we had to leave early.

What a relief, we checked into the Sefton, room 112, a beautiful bay view suite.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank susanharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We are a mature biking couple and it was our first time visiting the Island and choose the hotel from the website not knowing anything about it, just going on the reviews posted, what a find it turned out to be. The hotel is centrally placed, very quiet and peaceful and and is certainly value for money, the breakfast being first class with plenty of choice, and the bar meals the same. The rooms were clean and tidy and the staff and owners were very helpful and friendly. The whole island is very biker friendly and there is plenty of safe parking on the road right outside the hotel. l have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone who is looking for good food and accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Location Value for money
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedtripleSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancasire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

As a family of 5 we took a double room in the hotel and a 1 bedroomed apartment.
I stayed in the apartment with 2 children,it was fantastic a really good size plenty of storage room with great facilities and most of all very clean.
My parents stayed in the hotel which they thoroughly enjoyed, the service by the owners and staff was brilliant nothing was too much. The food was excellent along with the room and all facilities.
We would recommend the hotel and apartments to everyone.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnieLancasire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Devonian
The Devonian
#2 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caledonia Hotel
Caledonia Hotel
#13 of 27 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale House & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale House & Apartments

Property: Arrandale House & Apartments
Address: 39 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HW
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arrandale House & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure, stay at the friendly Arrandale and experience why so many of our guests keep returning time and time again. Located on a quiet Victorian garden square in central Douglas, the popular Arrandale is ideally located for your stay in the beautiful Isle of Man. The Arrandale offers 18 comfortable guest rooms and 7 self catering apartments. Travel also arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Arrandale House & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale House & Apartments Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing