We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I have just spent a very enjoyable 5 day stay at the Palace hotel and I can honestly say I cannot find a single fault with anything.
The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food and restaurant service was excellent, and the room was clean and comfortable.
We will certainly be returning to the Palace hotel in the future
Norma Lloyd

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladylou96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    339
    291
    101
    59
See reviews for
138
404
41
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bury. lancs
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We went very end of September. Staff really helpful, can't fault them. The problem was the food - it was so wonderful both to look at and to taste. We were given as much or little as we wanted. The selections were varied and interesting. If I had stayed too long I am sure that a diet would have been in order.
Overall the hotel was a lovely experience, dedicated staff and a head chef who is a positive treasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clapham North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We recently had a four night stay at the the hotel We were given a room overlooking the car park which was fine we thought. The air extractor for the kitchen runs all night which seems rather unnecessary as it is noisy, and they have provided a "Smokers Cabin" just outside the main entrance where people are gathering till 3 am smoking and chatting, the sounds echo all around the area and are amplified. Since it was pleasantly warm we had the window open to allow some air in the room but this rendered good sleep impossible. The tiling joints and silicone around the bath could do with some remedial treatment as well. The staff and breakfast were wonderful and we think if you intend staying there make sure you get a room with a Sea view and you will be very happy

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaimlerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I went to this hotel in Sept ’11 with a friend as part of a deal arranged by the Steam Packet Company that runs ferries from Liverpool to Douglas. I chose the hotel in part because of the recommendations on Tripadvisor.

The hotel is on the long promenade about a £5 taxi fare away from the ferry terminal. You can also get the bus (nos. 1 or 2) or the horse tram (which unfortunately had finished for the season the day before we arrived) if you don’t have much luggage.

The exterior of the hotel is unprepossessing to say the least. It’s a concrete slab that dates back to the 1950s or 60s, and if you go in through the front entrance you have to climb up a flight of stairs to get to reception. There is a lift, but a key is required to activate it, and you have to call the staff to gain access to it.

The hotel is much better on the inside than the outside. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, though the view to the rear overlooked the car park and was nothing to write home about. We had booked bed and breakfast and we also paid extra for our evening meals there for convenience sake initially. The breakfasts were self-service and had the full range of English and continental options. I had cereal, fruit, full English, with fruit juice and coffee, and this set me up for the rest of the day. The evening menu offered 1, 2 and 3-course menus (starter, main, dessert), at just £9.99 for the main course. There was choice of about 5 main courses, including an excellent carvery. The food was well prepared, very tasty, and represented excellent value for money.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful; from the waiters in the restaurant to the reception staff who stored our luggage on our final day prior to departure, and who ordered us a taxi to get back to the ferry terminal.

We didn’t use the Casino facilities while we were there (not being much into gambling) but we did pop into the sports bar that forms part of the building complex on the ground floor, where we watched a live football match one evening while enjoying a reasonably priced pint of the local Okell’s ale.

It may not look as glamorous on the outside as some of the other hotels along the Douglas promenade, but if you want unpretentious, clean, value-for-money accommodation with good food the Palace & Casino may well be for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedEyes44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Having read some of the reviews about this hotel we were almost dreading this visit, and there is no doubt that the exterior of the building did nothing to make us feel better; it is well in need of a spruce up. However the facilities and standard of service were just fine. We had a deluxe room with a nice sea view and had no complaints about it. Granted, the corridors are rather long and narrow and could do with redecorating. As for noise there was some from inconsiderate guests returning to their rooms in the early hours, but I suppose you could get that anywhere.Free WIFI is available but the service was a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was included in our rate and we opted to eat in the hotel restaurant both nights. The food was pretty good and the service from the restaurant staff was very attentive. Not a bad experience at all but would probably try and go somewhere less corporate if we decided to revisit the Isle of Man.

Room Tip: A deluxe room is a good choice -seem to be on the higher floors so you don't get as much noise t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iannpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We arrived very late (1am in the morning) straight off the ferry on our bikes. Dealt with very quickly and given our rooms. The room was a double sea view but not an executive as I thought we had booked (my error I think). Not a bad size and view of the sea superb. Another couple in our group couldn't open their balcony door and were told they could either have it unlocked or locked, not both!! The room could have been a lot cleaner, lot's of dust and stains around, torn curtains and in general very tired. We paid £95 per room, per night and for this I thought we'd have breakfast thrown in but that was an extra £14. The prices of drinks and breakfast I thought was well over priced but the food was excellent. I can't praise the staff enough, they definitely keep this hotel running smoothly and with a smile.

Room Tip: Order breakfast in room for one, there's enough for two!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I'd advise against staying in any rooms overlooking the car park entrance if you intend sleeping on either a Friday or Saturday night. The night club crowd wait for their taxis to arrive and entertain themselves with singing and shouting from 1am to around 5am! Pity because I enjoyed all but 3 nights of my stay there.

Room Tip: Away from the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
620 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
347 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#7 of 17 in Douglas
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino

Property: Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing